BTTV Capture card

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.30.x releases only.
skydiver

BTTV Capture card

Post by skydiver »

I have a 4 chip/8 input Bttv capture card running in Ubuntu server ZM in a VMWARE VM with the PCI card passed through to the VM. This card support sdual cameras on each /dev/videoX input.

All primary channels work great and captures video. When I add a second camera /video0(1) both the primary /dev/video0(0) and the secondary lose video.

I have both sources set as follows:
Device channels set to 0 & 1 respectively
Captures per frame set to 2
Multi Buffering set to yes

In Options/Config I have set:
V4L_MULTI_BUFFER = Checked
CAPTURES_PER_FRAME = 2

I have had this setup working n the past before I virtualized the server. I have been running ZM off and one for almost 10 years now so I know this hardware will work but every setting tweak I have tried has not worked. Any suggestions?
SteveGilvarry

Re: BTTV Capture card

Post by SteveGilvarry »

Are you using a new kernel? Some talk of cards not working in modern kernels, maybe this is one of the symptoms, hopefully someone running one will chime in.
Production Zoneminder 1.37.x (Living dangerously)
Random Selection of Cameras (Dahua and Hikvision)
knight-of-ni

Post by knight-of-ni »

I'm very surprised vmware's passthrough works at all with that old card.

Since you've had this card for a while, you probably know that the bttv driver will not autodetect your card properly.
You've got to manually configure the driver with a config file placed under /etc/modprobe.d
Did you copy the config file, from the original working system, over to the vm?

If you can get the card working fine on physical hardware but cannot in a virtual environment after configuring the card then I'd say its time to look for a different solution. An IP Video Encoder would solve your problem.
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266