need browser restart, freezing stream WORKAROUND

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.24.x releases only.
Post Reply
athorretto
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:34 pm

need browser restart, freezing stream WORKAROUND

Post by athorretto » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:59 pm

Hi all

i'm a new user of zm, now running on a vm(vmware server 2) ubuntu server 9.04 zm 1.24.1.

After a couple days i fixed up configuration for my needs, but firefox freeze after, sometimes 1 minute, sometimes 10 secs; the solution is to erase cache(restart firefox sometimes) or reload apache as we well know.

Regarding this issue i read a lot in the forum but worksrounds i found didn't solve my problem, anyway helps understanding components involved in this issue.

One thing that can't understand: why the fps value is going negative in the moment of the freeze? someone else notice that?

searching in the /var/www/zm for "fpsValue" with grep (the relative id on the php page) this is the result:

skins/classic/views/js/watch.js
skins/classic/views/js/montage.js
skins/classic/views/watch.php
skins/classic/views/montage.php

focusing on "skins/classic/views/watch.php" ,simply i cut off the <span> tag that display fps:

from

<div><SLANG>:&nbsp;<span></span>&nbsp;-&nbsp;<span></span>&nbsp;fps</div>

to

<div><SLANG>:&nbsp;<span></span>&nbsp;-&nbsp;&nbsp;fps</div>

this solve my problems of freezing streams that i was experiencing without restarting the browser because it didn't freeze.

Can anyone that is experiencing the same problem , try to modify the file and verify if it works properly?

Unfortunatly cutting off the span tag remove the funcion of "disable alarms" and "forced alarm" from the page, i didn't understanding yet , i think i've to look in the css.

if someone can try i hope we can find, with the help of someone that know php, an easy way to workaround this problem.

<edit>

before the mod freezing usually in 1/3 mins, now running from 1h but didn't understanding why :twisted: :twisted: help !

<edit>
Last edited by athorretto on Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jfkastner
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:52 pm

Post by jfkastner » Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:45 am

for whatever reason the ONLY FF version that works for me with ALL menus/windows/controls reliably was 3.0.7

you can use 307 just for ZM and don't care about the security/update issues, and have another FF for the web access

athorretto
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:34 pm

Post by athorretto » Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:07 pm

edit:

no freeze in 12h, can anyone try this workaround ?????????

this could help to find a good solution

danisam
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:07 pm

Post by danisam » Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:47 pm

i will try,give me the day.

regards

Pictux
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 3:06 pm

Post by Pictux » Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:42 am

I solve the freeze problem refreshing browser.
Here my solution:
http://www.zoneminder.com/forums/viewto ... 2502#62502

Regards
M

danisam
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:07 pm

Post by danisam » Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:32 pm

I just perform the change in watch.php and it's seems that my freeze pb is fixed.
But when i went to the multi view , i can see the FPS an the page freeze.
Where can i find this php page to chenge the same.

BEst regards

danisam
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:07 pm

Post by danisam » Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:44 pm

after hours of tests i can say that my freeze problem in Apache is gone.
Thank you very much athorretto.
Now i need to search the Clycle and mutiple camera PHP pages.

best regards all

Long life to Zoneminder.

danisam
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:07 pm

Post by danisam » Sun Jun 06, 2010 10:34 pm

I found it in :

/var/www/skins/classic/views/montage.php

i will continue my tests but i think you find the problem.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests