Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.28.x releases only.
Post Reply
dazed
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:32 pm

Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Post by dazed » Thu Oct 13, 2016 5:03 pm

I am having a problem setting up a monitor for a new Hikvision 4MB (DS-2CD2042WD-I updated to 5.4) working under 1.28.1

I can set the camera for 4MB and in the monitor the only way it will work is if i set the aspect ratio down to 1920x1080.

Is there a limitation in 1.28.1? I currently have a 3MP Hikvision (S-2CD2032-I) set at 2048x1536 with no isues setting that aspect ratio to its correct value.

My settings
Ffmpeg
32bit (tried also 24)
RTP/RTSP
rtsp://user:password@IPaddress:554/Streaming/Channels/1

dazed
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:32 pm

Re: Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Post by dazed » Thu Oct 13, 2016 5:13 pm

I just tried this (didnt realize i was set to 4:3 in .... Options -> Config -> DEFAULT_ASPECT_RATIO to 16:9) and it didnt help.

viewtopic.php?t=22903

bbunge
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:40 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Post by bbunge » Sat Oct 15, 2016 12:12 am

As you have discovered you have to get the resolution setting just right. Also, the higher the resolution the more memory you need in your server. You did not give your Linux version nor hardware. Can't make specific recommendations without more info.

bb

dazed
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:32 pm

Re: Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Post by dazed » Sat Oct 15, 2016 5:15 pm

Well the resolution isn't just right since i can set camera for 2688*1520(cameras software)
and in Zoneminder the highest resolution to make it visible in monitor I had set that to 1920*1080

Also Camera Looks great thru camera software.....and terrible in Zonemider (blocky pixels if thats even the right description).....my 2MB look great thru ZM but the 3MB one not so great.

My hardware
2-2mb Cameras
1-3mb Camera
1-4mb Camera

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
8GB Memory

Code: Select all

vmstat -s
      8060516 K total memory
      7868572 K used memory
      1546220 K active memory
      6075840 K inactive memory
       191944 K free memory
        57868 K buffer memory
      6225096 K swap cache
      8272892 K total swap
            0 K used swap
      8272892 K free swap
      3830774 non-nice user cpu ticks
            0 nice user cpu ticks
        58247 system cpu ticks
     20149933 idle cpu ticks
        90641 IO-wait cpu ticks
            2 IRQ cpu ticks
        26849 softirq cpu ticks
            0 stolen cpu ticks
       328085 pages paged in
      9762701 pages paged out
            0 pages swapped in
            0 pages swapped out
     59315951 interrupts
     70057219 CPU context switches
   1476522320 boot time
       252870 forks

Code: Select all

free -m -l
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          7871       7684        186          0         56       6077
Low:          7871       7684        186
High:            0          0          0
-/+ buffers/cache:       1550       6320
Swap:         8078          0       8078

Code: Select all

lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID: Ubuntu
Description:    Ubuntu 12.04.5 LTS
Release:        12.04
Codename:       precise

dazed
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:32 pm

Re: Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Post by dazed » Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:25 pm

Well I upgraded to 1.30 and Ubuntu 14.04lts....It didnt help.

Picture looks great thru Camera embeded software but terrible in monitor...guess i can see what happens recording,before I start thinking about other options.

SteveGilvarry
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:12 pm
Location: Melbourne, AU

Re: Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Post by SteveGilvarry » Thu Oct 20, 2016 9:45 am

No problems for me, but I only run at 5fps, picture is clear in stream, not blocky, but motion is not smooth due to low fps.
Screen Shot 2016-10-20 at 8.42.11 pm.png
Screen Shot 2016-10-20 at 8.42.11 pm.png (140.82 KiB) Viewed 5183 times
Production Zoneminder 1.35.x
Random Selection of Cameras (Dahua and Hikvision)
More Dev VM's than I care to count.

boostedtimmy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:31 pm

Re: Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Post by boostedtimmy » Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:34 pm

Did you ever figure this out? I have the same exact problem with my DS-2CD2042WD-I. Everything works great until I try to bump the res up to 2688x1520, even though that's what the camera is set to :( Stuck with 1920x1080 for the moment.

dazed
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:32 pm

Re: Monitor doesnt like 4MP aspect ratio

Post by dazed » Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:54 pm

boostedtimmy wrote:Did you ever figure this out? I have the same exact problem with my DS-2CD2042WD-I. Everything works great until I try to bump the res up to 2688x1520, even though that's what the camera is set to :( Stuck with 1920x1080 for the moment.
No I returned the Camera thinking it might be the camera (even though the image looked great thru camera's interface).

I wasn't gonna have a camera that looked like garbage thru ZM...waiting to see if others have similar problem before I get another to try.

One note is that I upgraded Firmware before testing...next Ill test thru ZM before Updating firmware.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests