Montage of IP Cameras

Add any particular hints or tricks you have found to help with your ZoneMinder experience.

Moderator: zoneminder

Flasheart
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:27 pm

Montage of IP Cameras

Postby Flasheart » Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:18 pm

I've been doing this for years but it seems to be overlooked by many. Using Zoneminder's montage to view multiple cameras adds to server load a lot.

You can get better performance and a more flexible layout simply by using <img> tags to build a simple html file and avoid stressing zoneminder entirely.

Naturally this needs IP cams that support mjpeg. I've added to the wiki below with a picture of what I mean.

http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.php/IpCamMontage

me2
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:57 pm

Re: Montage of IP Cameras

Postby me2 » Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:38 pm

Flasheart wrote:I've been doing this for years but it seems to be overlooked by many. Using Zoneminder's montage to view multiple cameras adds to server load a lot.

You can get better performance and a more flexible layout simply by using <img> tags to build a simple html file and avoid stressing zoneminder entirely.

Naturally this needs IP cams that support mjpeg. I've added to the wiki below with a picture of what I mean.

http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.php/IpCamMontage


Great tip !

What cameras are you using ?

Thanks

kmrs75
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 9:34 pm

Re: Montage of IP Cameras

Postby kmrs75 » Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:53 pm

I was just looking up some things with montage i get logged off every 20 mins or so i was looking how to get around that but I will do this instead thanks a lot.

not sure how much this may help buy instead of streaming the images you could capture a single image and do a auto refresh of the page every 2 sec and then all the stills would reload only one time. may save more bandwith. you could use a plug in RELOADEVERY that is what i use for other things.

Thanks again

Flasheart
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:27 pm

Re: Montage of IP Cameras

Postby Flasheart » Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:39 pm

me2 wrote:What cameras are you using ?


Lots! About six types of Axis, Y-Cam Blacks, Gadspot, Panasonic, those Dealextreme cheapies and another I can't remember the name of.

I use an sql backend which generates the html for the montage page based on various parameters - which site, which group of cameras (perimeter, welfare, etc). That contains the urls for the images and urls to take the user to the full camera page when clicked.

Works really well, but took a little time to set up.

Flasheart
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:27 pm

Re: Montage of IP Cameras

Postby Flasheart » Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:40 pm

kmrs75 wrote:I was just looking up some things with montage i get logged off every 20 mins or so i was looking how to get around that but I will do this instead thanks a lot.

not sure how much this may help buy instead of streaming the images you could capture a single image and do a auto refresh of the page every 2 sec and then all the stills would reload only one time. may save more bandwith. you could use a plug in RELOADEVERY that is what i use for other things.

Thanks again


That's a good idea. The only problem isn't so much bandwidth, it's cpu load. The cpu tops out with 16 or so cameras at a time and that limits bandwidth, so your suggestion would help that a lot.


Return to “ZoneMinder Hints & Tips”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 0 guests