big probleme with FOSCAM IP PT/IR cam FI8918W random reset

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.25.x releases only.
christophe_y2k
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:47 am
Location: EUROPE-FRANCE-MANDELIEU

Re: big probleme with FOSCAM IP PT/IR cam FI8918W random res

Post by christophe_y2k » Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:39 pm

Hello, have receive my another one acces point,
Now i connect foscam with wired ethernet
the wifi link is established with my acces point in wds (ethernet bridge).
i suspend my crontab tweaks
and no wait and see if have a reboot probleme

For your temp probleme are you with WiFi or Lan ?

Optimist
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:17 am

Re: big probleme with FOSCAM IP PT/IR cam FI8918W random res

Post by Optimist » Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:56 pm

I am using hardwired LAN in my system.

christophe_y2k
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:47 am
Location: EUROPE-FRANCE-MANDELIEU

Re: big probleme with FOSCAM IP PT/IR cam FI8918W random res

Post by christophe_y2k » Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:37 pm

Hello i can't add fan to my cam, but my cam is in little closed room about 3 or 4 m3 with no fresh air.
and the temp in summer is between 25°C and 28°C but i've never measured it.

And since I have had a wired Lan connection there is no problem, i'm on holidays tomorrow and my cam will run for some days 24h/24h

I read many articles about Foscam clone, all are problematic, no firmware update buggy, i think
you must take original product
i buy it for 79.99€ in my country at http://www.casabill.com/fr/camera-de-su ... anche.html
i don't want to make any ad here but this is just to let you know...

christophe_y2k
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:47 am
Location: EUROPE-FRANCE-MANDELIEU

Re: big probleme with FOSCAM IP PT/IR cam FI8918W random res

Post by christophe_y2k » Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:44 pm

Hello, i'm come back and the Foscam connected with Wired Lan for 5 days lock up 2 times
same reset bug with Wlan connection.

Definitively this FOSCAM FI8918W is not usable for alarm system with zoneminder
This is a cheap product for test purpose PT function and zoneminder but no more.

I must use my cron job script for recall and switch off ir led every 2 minutes.

Good weeks

bloomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:29 am

Re: big probleme with FOSCAM IP PT/IR cam FI8918W random res

Post by bloomer » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:39 am

I recently started using Zoneminder with this camera. I am seeing this reset problem once every few days (not regular intervals or times, but much more common at night). The camera is connected to the server via Wifi.

Using the camera's own detect/alarm functionality, this problem has never happened. I used the camera for about four months in the same location/conditions, using Wifi, FTP-ing to a dumb network drive, then bought/installed a server (Ubuntu) and Zoneminder.

So this problem arises from something to do with the camera +/- server +/- zoneminder.

christophe_y2k
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:47 am
Location: EUROPE-FRANCE-MANDELIEU

Re: big probleme with FOSCAM IP PT/IR cam FI8918W random res

Post by christophe_y2k » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:48 pm

Hello,

Yes this cam cannot send images for a long time (few hours).
(With ZM, cam send images all the time)

have 3 production server (Gentoo64 and latest ZM svn)
cam are Bewan/Dlink/Sony and the only cam problem have is with Foscam.

But for the price this is a good product(if dirty color and reboot bug do not disturbe you)

koolb
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 3:30 am

Re: big probleme with FOSCAM IP PT/IR cam FI8918W random res

Post by koolb » Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:30 am

Hi,

I am using three foscam FI8918W's with no firmware updates on 1.25.0 (now masterTheKnife's 1.25.1 version). Two are wireless one is wired. I get an occasional 1 frame signal alarm (dropped frame?) mabye 1-2 per 24hr period.

I had to do a small (1 line patch) to zm_jpeg.cpp in both orginal 1.25.0 and mtK's version to get rid of the warning about the spurious 1-2 bytes in the jpg.

zm_jpeg.cpp: 63:+ if (!strstr(buffer, "Corrupt JPEG data:"))


I have not done any upgrades to the firmware. I strongly recommend these cams for the price/feature capabilities.I got mine off amazon. I but the 2-3 packs.

mTK's version runs *much* lighter on my CPU with these cams. From load around 1.2 to now around 0.39. The CPU usage of zma and zmc have dropped about this much as well each (used htop to measure before/after).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests