Print special things on Webcam Images (

Anything you want added or changed in future versions of ZoneMinder? Post here and there's a chance it will get in! Search to make sure it hasn't already been requested.

Moderator: zoneminder

Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 4:19 pm

Print special things on Webcam Images (

Postby lukelukeluke » Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:58 pm

Hi, I wondered if there was a solution to print more than timestamps on Zoneminder generated images. I know you can display the time and title, but I would like to display output of an external application on it, for example display the temperature with something like: `cat /tmp/curtemp`.

I've seen in the manual that there is ZoneMinder-1.23.3/scripts/
‘showtext’ is up to 32 characters of text that can be displayed in the timestamp that is added to images. The ‘show’ action is designed to update this text without affecting alarms but the text is updated, if present, for any of the actions. This is designed to allow external input to appear on the images captured, for instance temperature or personnel identity etc.

But I can't find an instruction on how to use zmtrigger...?

Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 4:19 pm

Postby lukelukeluke » Tue Jun 16, 2009 6:22 pm

Since no one answered, I tried the following workaround for my problem:
I wrote an external PHP-Script, which changes the Database entry Monitors.LabelFormat which I wanted to execute every 5 minutes. But apparently the change of this entry doesnt effect the timestamp on the image, even tough the Monitors Timestamp settings are updated in the settings pane - but the Monitor is only updated correctly when the Save button is pressed within Zoneminder.
Does anyone know a workaround for my workaround? :?

Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 4:19 pm

Postby lukelukeluke » Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:34 am

Normando posted the solution in this topic:

Normando wrote:1- Comment those channels you will not use. In my case I only use port 6802 to control, so comment the rest of connection in

Code: Select all

 my @connections;
push( @connections, ZoneMinder::Trigger::Connection->new( name=>"Chan1", channel=>ZoneMinder::Trigger::Channel::Inet->new( port=>6802 ), mode=>"rw" ) );
#push( @connections, ZoneMinder::Trigger::Connection->new( name=>"Chan2", channel=>ZoneMinder::Trigger::Channel::Unix->new( path=>'/tmp/test.sock' ), mode=>"rw" ) );
#push( @connections, ZoneMinder::Trigger::Connection->new( name=>"Chan3", channel=>ZoneMinder::Trigger::Channel::File->new( path=>'/tmp/zmtrigger.out' ), mode=>"w" ) );
#push( @connections, ZoneMinder::Trigger::Connection->new( name=>"Chan4", channel=>ZoneMinder::Trigger::Channel::Serial->new( path=>'/dev/ttyS0' ), mode=>"rw" ) );

2- Enable triggers in options and restart zm

Code: Select all


3- Send the command to the port 6802. You can make a script in php to access the socket in that port or send directly with your external app. I have write my own php script:

Code: Select all

$cfgServer    = "localhost";
$cfgPort    = 6802;
$cfgTimeOut    = 10;

if ($extTrigger) {
    // open a socket
    if(!$cfgTimeOut) {
   // without timeout
        @$conn_handle = fsockopen($cfgServer, $cfgPort);
   // with timeout
        @$conn_handle = fsockopen($cfgServer, $cfgPort, &$errno, &$errstr, $cfgTimeOut);
    if(!$conn_handle) {
    //    echo "Connexion failed ";
        echo "E1";
    //    echo "Connected ";
   echo "E0";
        fputs($conn_handle, $extTrigger);
// close connexion

4- Add the token %Q at the end of timestamp string in your monitor settings, or where you want.

5- Change the monitor function to NoDect, MoCord or MoDect. If you want more functions to use external trigger look at

6- Send the command. In my case because script, I send via URL:

Code: Select all


in your case

Code: Select all


Reply the results

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:10 am

Postby ludri » Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:08 pm

Thanks this works for me too.

Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:31 pm

Postby whatboy » Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:49 am

Wonder how can you past info from a file, I have a weather station, and I generate a file every 5 minutes with temp, wind, rain, etc... and wanted to pass that info from the file to Zoneminder...

Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 4:19 pm

Postby lukelukeluke » Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:00 am

If you used the php version, you could just do a little shell script that would open that file (a certain information from it) and call the PHP script with your information:

Code: Select all

VAR=`cat /path/to/your/file | grep line`
wget http://myserver/zm/myscript.php?extTrigger=1|show||||$VAR

For more info:
man cat
man grep
man wget

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:01 am

Postby ohmeega » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:57 am

Can I add another webcam to a computer that already has an integrated webcam? I recently bought a Dell. I don't like the quality of the image that the integrated webcam has, therefore I would rather keep my old webcam. Will there be any interference if I install my old webcam?
external keyword tool ~ ~ ~ ~

Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 0 guests