Bleucherry PV-149: What driver to use.

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Bleucherry PV-149: What driver to use.

Postby paulandgabriela » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:50 pm

Hi out there,

I have bought a bluecherry PV149 and my camera's came in today. So I wanted to install it but the life-cd supplied by them is not working.

Now I won't want to use the life cd anyhow as I want to add the camera and frame capture card PV149 in my FC6 system.

But I do not know howto continue?

Does anyone has a hint for me?

Thanks,

Paul

Sika
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 8:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Postby Sika » Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:25 pm

Just follow the "How to" for FC6 from the wiki site. You will need to add to the modprobe.conf file:

modprobe bttv gbuffers=16 card=98,98,98,98

That should get you up and running.

Sika

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby paulandgabriela » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:00 pm

Hi Sika,

Is this what you mean:
http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Fedora_fc5

Thanks,

Paul

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby paulandgabriela » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:38 pm

I changed /etc/modprobe.conf (see last line) to:

alias eth0 e100
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
options snd-card-0 index=0
options snd-intel8x0 index=0
remove snd-intel8x0 { /usr/sbin/alsactl store 0 >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-intel8x0
# options pwc index=1
remove pwc { /usr/sbin/alsactl store 1 >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove pwc
modprobe bttv gbuffers=16 card=98,98,98,98

However no result.

Cheers,

Paul

User avatar
eracc
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Postby eracc » Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:01 am

paulandgabriela wrote:Hi Sika,

Is this what you mean:
http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Fedora_fc5

Thanks,

Paul
No, he means the ZoneMinder Wiki. See this:

http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.ph ... ep-by-Step
ERA Computers & Consulting
Security Cameras and Systems

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby paulandgabriela » Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:04 pm

But overthere is nothing mentioned about the PV-149 or something similar??

Cheers,

Paul

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby paulandgabriela » Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:15 pm

Found some more, but this does not ring a bell for me:

[root@localhost ~]# dmesg |grep -2 bttv
audit(1168711540.490:2): selinux=0 auid=4294967295
Linux video capture interface: v2.00
bttv: driver version 0.9.16 loaded
bttv: using 8 buffers with 2080k (520 pages) each for capture
bttv: Bt8xx card found (0).
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:03:08.0[A] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 169
bttv0: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:03:08.0, irq: 169, latency: 32, mmio: 0xef000000
bttv0: detected: Provideo PV150A-1 [card=98], PCI subsystem ID is aa00:1460
bttv0: using: ProVideo PV150 [card=98,autodetected]
bttv0: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=00ffffff [init]
bttv0: using tuner=-1
bttv0: i2c: checking for TDA9875 @ 0xb0... not found
bttv0: i2c: checking for TDA7432 @ 0x8a... not found
bttv0: i2c: checking for TDA9887 @ 0x86... not found
bttv0: registered device video0
bttv0: registered device vbi0
bttv0: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok
bttv: Bt8xx card found (1).
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:03:09.0[A] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 193
bttv1: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:03:09.0, irq: 193, latency: 32, mmio: 0xee000000
bttv1: detected: Provideo PV150A-2 [card=98], PCI subsystem ID is aa01:1461
bttv1: using: ProVideo PV150 [card=98,autodetected]
bttv1: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=00ffffff [init]
bttv1: using tuner=-1
bttv1: i2c: checking for TDA9875 @ 0xb0... not found
bttv1: i2c: checking for TDA7432 @ 0x8a... not found
bttv1: i2c: checking for TDA9887 @ 0x86... not found
bttv1: registered device video1
bttv1: registered device vbi1
bttv1: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok
bttv: Bt8xx card found (2).
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:03:0a.0[A] -> GSI 23 (level, low) -> IRQ 177
bttv2: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:03:0a.0, irq: 177, latency: 32, mmio: 0xed000000
bttv2: detected: Provideo PV150A-3 [card=98], PCI subsystem ID is aa02:1462
bttv2: using: ProVideo PV150 [card=98,autodetected]
bttv2: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=00ffffff [init]
bttv2: using tuner=-1
bttv2: i2c: checking for TDA9875 @ 0xb0... not found
bttv2: i2c: checking for TDA7432 @ 0x8a... not found
bttv2: i2c: checking for TDA9887 @ 0x86... not found
bttv2: registered device video2
bttv2: registered device vbi2
bttv2: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .<6>hdc: ATAPI 40X DVD-ROM drive, 512kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
bt878: Unknown symbol bttv_read_gpio
bt878: Unknown symbol bttv_write_gpio
bt878: Unknown symbol bttv_gpio_enable
.<4>bt878: Unknown symbol bttv_read_gpio
bt878: Unknown symbol bttv_write_gpio
bt878: Unknown symbol bttv_gpio_enable
ok
bttv: Bt8xx card found (3).
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:03:0b.0[A] -> GSI 20 (level, low) -> IRQ 201
bttv3: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:03:0b.0, irq: 201, latency: 32, mmio: 0xec000000
bttv3: detected: Provideo PV150A-4 [card=98], PCI subsystem ID is aa03:1463
bttv3: using: ProVideo PV150 [card=98,autodetected]
bttv3: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=00ffffff [init]
bttv3: using tuner=-1
bttv3: i2c: checking for TDA9875 @ 0xb0... not found
bttv3: i2c: checking for TDA7432 @ 0x8a... not found
bttv3: i2c: checking for TDA9887 @ 0x86... not found
bttv3: registered device video3
bttv3: registered device vbi3
bttv3: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .<6>hdd: ATAPI 32X CD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 4096kB Cache, DMA
. ok
bt878: AUDIO driver version 0.0.0 loaded

Cheers,

Paul

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby paulandgabriela » Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:23 pm

This is the result of XAWTV:

[root@localhost ffmpeg]# xawtv
This is xawtv-3.95, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.18-1.2849.fc6)
WARNING: v4l-conf is compiled without DGA support.
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument

Thanks,

Paul

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby paulandgabriela » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:43 pm

Found a new command via http://tldp.visiolab.de/HOWTO/html_single/BTTV/

[root@localhost dev]# xawtv -hwscan
This is xawtv-3.95, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.18-1.2849.fc6)
looking for available devices
/dev/video0: OK [ -device /dev/video0 ]
type : v4l2
name : BT878 video (ProVideo PV150)
flags: overlay capture

/dev/video1: OK [ -device /dev/video1 ]
type : v4l2
name : BT878 video (ProVideo PV150)
flags: overlay capture

/dev/video2: OK [ -device /dev/video2 ]
type : v4l2
name : BT878 video (ProVideo PV150)
flags: overlay capture

/dev/video3: OK [ -device /dev/video3 ]
type : v4l2
name : BT878 video (ProVideo PV150)
flags: overlay capture

But still getting:
[root@localhost dev]# xawtv -device /dev/video0
This is xawtv-3.95, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.18-1.2849.fc6)
WARNING: v4l-conf is compiled without DGA support.
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument

curtishall
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:45 am
Location: Fulton, MO
Contact:

Postby curtishall » Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:52 am

The PV-149 doesn't require any modprobe settings or anything similar by default. The card is automagically found by the latest kernels. As I mentioned in the ticket request you opened you might have a defective card. If that's the case you can return it for a exchange

Thanks

--
Curtis Hall
Bluecherry
www.bluecherry.net


paulandgabriela wrote:Found a new command via http://tldp.visiolab.de/HOWTO/html_single/BTTV/

[root@localhost dev]# xawtv -hwscan
This is xawtv-3.95, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.18-1.2849.fc6)
looking for available devices
/dev/video0: OK [ -device /dev/video0 ]
type : v4l2
name : BT878 video (ProVideo PV150)
flags: overlay capture

/dev/video1: OK [ -device /dev/video1 ]
type : v4l2
name : BT878 video (ProVideo PV150)
flags: overlay capture

/dev/video2: OK [ -device /dev/video2 ]
type : v4l2
name : BT878 video (ProVideo PV150)
flags: overlay capture

/dev/video3: OK [ -device /dev/video3 ]
type : v4l2
name : BT878 video (ProVideo PV150)
flags: overlay capture

But still getting:
[root@localhost dev]# xawtv -device /dev/video0
This is xawtv-3.95, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.18-1.2849.fc6)
WARNING: v4l-conf is compiled without DGA support.
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_OVERLAY(int=1): Invalid argument
--
Curtis Hall
Bluecherry
www.bluecherrydvr.com
store.bluecherry.net

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

One step further, but not there yet.

Postby paulandgabriela » Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:31 pm

No it is not the HW. I have XAWTV working now. The solution was found under:
http://www.mail-archive.com/mjpeg-users ... 07044.html

It seems to be a FC6 issue. You have to find the framebuffer address under /dev/log/Xorg.0.log. Do a search for framebuffer and you will find the address.

The address is 0xF000 0000. One can set it n XAWTV with the command:
v4l-conf -a 0xF0000000.

Now the question is how to do this adaptation for ZoneMinder?

Cheers,

Paul

mrd
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 12:39 am
Location: Boston USA

Postby mrd » Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:10 pm

I'm having a problem with a PV-149 on the 1.21.3 LiveCD version of ZM. It worked fine with one camera attached until I hooked up a second to the cable/port on the capture card labeled #2 and now when I try to switch the source from one camera to the other for testing, any image it shows does a very fast switching back and forth from one source to the other. I've tried multiple source settings:
Device Numbers 0-4
Device Channels 0-4

No combinations seem to help and one thing to note is that TvTime seems to show each camera fine.

Thanks,
MRD

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Switched to Suse.

Postby paulandgabriela » Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:04 pm

The liveCD coming with the card is not working at all.
The drive keeps spinning in an endless loop.

I have abandoned FC6.

I switched to Suse 10.2.

It is certainly a lot more work to get it configured. Even harder to do and twice as long as for FC6. I have XAWTV working without a problem and I think I am very close to getting Zoneminder up and running but not sure though.

Cheers,

Paul

paulandgabriela
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands

It works under Suse 10.2

Postby paulandgabriela » Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:41 pm

Guys,

I got it working under Suse 10.2, only thing is that if I am logging in remotely my main window starts up. But then if I click anything I get 403 errors
Access forbidden, for unknown reason.

Still something to digg into I guess.

Cheers,

Paul

mrd
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 12:39 am
Location: Boston USA

Postby mrd » Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:35 pm

I've switched to the LiveCD that BlueCherry makes and it's working for me...

Just an update...

It must be a driver issue or possibly a kernel issue since the only LiveCD I was able to get working before had an older kernel on it.
MRD


Return to “Hardware Queries”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests