3 questions about post installation configuration from a novice

Discussions related to the 1.36.x series of ZoneMinder
bosun

3 questions about post installation configuration from a novice

Post by bosun »

I have an x86 Core i5 box with 16GB RAM running a headless Ubuntu Server 22.04 LTS fully updated and Zoneminder 1.36.33. I am successfully streaming a Raspberry Pi 4B with a v2.1 camera via RTPS, at 1920x1080px and 30fps into Zoneminder. Beyond that I am a little lost.

The excellent detailed comprehensive official documentation is an superb resource for anyone with previous knowledge and skill of video streaming IP camera servers and the Dummies Guide wiki provides some clues about how to get started. As a novice I have experience of installing and configuring MotioneyeOS to record garden wildlife with 5 cameras using a frame change threshold of 1.5% for motion detection and movies preserved for either 1 day or one week on a server. The jump to the structure and complexity of Zoneminder for me is very great and I am failing to understand the basics of how configure the system beyond the defaults once a camera is streaming successfully into Zoneminder. I just want to record motion and for all videos to be deleted after a set time.

3 questions:

1) Could anyone recommend a simple guide or article which I can follow, something where the author explains how they have setup a simple system beyond the defaults post-installation - but without describing all the many many dozens of options available?