Requirements

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Post Reply
Smack2k
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:33 pm

Requirements

Post by Smack2k » Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:49 pm

New to Zone Minder...

Setting up a system with 4 IP POE Cameras with these Video Specs

Compression:H.265;H.264;H.264H;H.264B;MJPEG Frame Rate;Main Stream
3M(1~20fps)/1080P/720P(1 ~ 25/30fps)
Sub Stream;D1/CIF(1 ~ 25/30fps)
Bit Rate:H.265: 32K ~ 4156Kbps

What kind of hardware requirements (CPU / RAM / etc) would be suggested to run this?

Would this work - Core i5 (I5-3210M) /16 GB RAM?

If more information is needed, please let me know and i Can provide it!

kitkat
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:17 pm

Re: Requirements

Post by kitkat » Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:04 pm

At a guess, I'd say that it very probably will.

I'm running two 1920 x 1080 monitors at 5 fps to 10 fps (it varies with light levels) and a total of 13 zones on a Core2Duo E8500 @ 3.16GHz with 4 GB of RAM, and the system load generally hovers between 0.1 and 0.5, although it does go higher sometimes, and /dev/shm is usually 50% full.

Smack2k
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: Requirements

Post by Smack2k » Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:17 pm

Thanks for the information,,,,like I said, just getting into ZoneMinder so really appreciate it!

User avatar
iconnor
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:43 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Requirements

Post by iconnor » Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:21 pm

Just want to put this out there, a lot of people start freaking out if their load is > 0. Load is just a measure of how many processes are waiting to be serviced. It doesn't tell you whether they are being serviced fast enough or not.

I have several servers that run a load of 10 or more and all the cameras are being read from, analyzed and written to disk fast enough.

Some tools like htop will do a good job of showing just how busy your processors are. I like to keep mine around 50% under peak load.

Smack2k
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: Requirements

Post by Smack2k » Sat Oct 12, 2019 7:01 pm

Thanks for that tip....will check out htop....

Smack2k
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: Requirements

Post by Smack2k » Sun Oct 13, 2019 11:46 pm

You were talking about people being upset when their load >0. I hooked up my Core i5-3210M with 16 GB RAM. With just the system hooked up, I go to the http page and the load goes around .01 to .18. I know you said >0 so just wanted to ask if that is anything to be concerned with?

CountyLine
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:22 pm
Location: USA

Re: Requirements

Post by CountyLine » Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:56 am

No.

I'm pretty sure that was his way of saying some users are much too concerned about load numbers.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests