Zoneminder calling server IP when trying to view camera

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.32.x releases only.
Post Reply
hambleto
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:39 pm

Zoneminder calling server IP when trying to view camera

Post by hambleto » Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:45 pm

Hello. I am running v1.32.3 on Ubuntu 19.04 When I go to view a camera I notice that it is making a call to the server ip on port 80 and not to the actual domain name path and port. The actual server has a DNS name, path, and runs over https. I am not seeing any errors in the log file.

When viewing the source it is calling this:
var monitorUrl = 'http://192.168.1.178:80/zm/index.php';
AND:
<div id="imageFeed"><img id="liveStream2" src="http://192.168.1.178:80/zm/cgi-bin/nph- ... 1565361758" alt="Camera name"

Thank you for any help / suggestions you may be able to provide.

operat0r
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:03 am

Re: Zoneminder calling server IP when trying to view camera

Post by operat0r » Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:06 am

looks like a DNS issue .. mine works fine with nslookup 25.0.0.151 I get plex.l so I can DNS to http://plex.l/zm/ there a number of ways you can fix it .. try these:

* set your local hostfile (the client AKA browser) for that hostname to whatever IP you want it to goto ie in my example http://plex.l/zm/?view=monitor&mid=1 I would set static hostfile for plex.l to 25.0.0.151
* change your hostname on the ZM box /etc/hostname
* exit the hostfile for your router or add static route/dns
* if you nslookup or dig 192.168.1.178 what do you get .. if you get anything but the desierd DNS name your doing DNS wrong :P

hambleto
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:39 pm

Re: Zoneminder calling server IP when trying to view camera

Post by hambleto » Wed Aug 14, 2019 11:12 am

Thank you very much for the suggestion. I have checked the DNS and everything seems to be working. In addition I get the same issue both inside and outside the network. When ever Zoneminder goes to call a video stream it always pulls the server IP address that is behind the firewall and not the DNS name. If I look at the source from the page, copy the URL being called, paste it into the browser, and replace the IP address with the DNS name it works just fine both inside and outside the firewall.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests