status display numbers?

Forum for questions and support relating to 1.33.x development only.
Post Reply
User avatar
zd59
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:39 pm
Location: EU - Slovenia

status display numbers?

Post by zd59 » Mon May 13, 2019 7:14 am

Can somebody please explain status figures for load and DB - attached picture
ZM_1.33.x_GIT-status.jpg
ZM_1.33.x_GIT-status.jpg (10.07 KiB) Viewed 114 times
1. what the lightning sign mean
2. Load number? - CPU is i5-7200U, dual core, 4 threads - and what number would be for 100% CPU load (all cores & threads)?
3. DB:X/Y - what numbers X and Y reflect?

kitkat
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:17 pm

Re: status display numbers?

Post by kitkat » Thu May 16, 2019 12:42 pm

zd59 wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 7:14 am
2. Load number? - CPU is i5-7200U, dual core, 4 threads - and what number would be for 100% CPU load (all cores & threads)?
100% load = 1.00 per CPU thread, so for yours that would be 4.00.

User avatar
zd59
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:39 pm
Location: EU - Slovenia

Re: status display numbers?

Post by zd59 » Thu May 16, 2019 1:18 pm

Yes, had in mind too (as htop show), until i've got figures well over 4 (5+).
I'm sure, as that was observed on different systems not only on one.
Could it be overclocking or kernel dealing with CPU states and speed?

kitkat
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:17 pm

Re: status display numbers?

Post by kitkat » Fri May 17, 2019 11:53 am

zd59 wrote:
Thu May 16, 2019 1:18 pm
Yes, had in mind too (as htop show), until i've got figures well over 4 (5+).
I'm sure, as that was observed on different systems not only on one.
Could it be overclocking or kernel dealing with CPU states and speed?
I think that load is actually calculated as something like, "the number of processes requesting CPU time, or instructions in the queue, divided by the number of CPU threads," so load values greater than the amount of threads indicate that processes are having to wait for CPU time rather than being executed immediately - i.e. the system has too much to do (is overloaded) and may be slow to respond.

User avatar
zd59
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:39 pm
Location: EU - Slovenia

Re: status display numbers?

Post by zd59 » Fri May 17, 2019 12:54 pm

Thank you kitkat!

So I'll observe systems with that in mind and act accordingly.

Regards..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests