ZMLArch system password

Support and queries relating to third party Live CDs and DVD, VM images and other packaged distributions
Post Reply
BKahler
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 11:23 am
Location: Arkansas, USA
Contact:

ZMLArch system password

Post by BKahler » Sun Nov 22, 2009 2:21 am

I playing around with ZMLArch on my computer (booting from CD) and am trying to change the computer screen resolution. I have a wide monitor that is 1680 x 1050.

Not being familiar with this version of Linux (actually not that familiar with any version of Linux!) I'm not sure what program to run to change the resolution settings. It seems like any program that I think would do the job requires a password. I've been searching and haven't had any luck finding the password documented anywhere.

Any help would be appreciated!

Brad

curtishall
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:45 am
Location: Fulton, MO
Contact:

Re: ZMLArch system password

Post by curtishall » Sun Nov 22, 2009 3:09 am

I've never used Arch Linux (or zmarch) before but I imagine it might use sudo instead of having a root (enabled) account.

So...you should be able to type sudo <command you need to run as root> or sudo -s to get a root shell
--
Curtis Hall
Bluecherry
www.bluecherrydvr.com
store.bluecherry.net

BKahler
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 11:23 am
Location: Arkansas, USA
Contact:

Post by BKahler » Sun Nov 22, 2009 12:57 pm

Curtis, thanks for the reply.

The problem is a root shell won't do me any good. I'm trying to use the system configuration tool to change my monitor/screen resolution. I seem to be stuck at about 640x480 or so and would like to make better use of my 1680 x 1050 monitor.

The system configurator requires a password and I can't seem to find any documentation on the forum or on the CD telling me what it is.

Brad

User avatar
rdmelin
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 2:23 pm
Location: Ellensburg, WA USA

Post by rdmelin » Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:04 am

There are no passwords set for user or root. Set one for root with "sudo passwd"
Set one for user with "sudo passwd user"

BKahler
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 11:23 am
Location: Arkansas, USA
Contact:

Post by BKahler » Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:44 pm

Ok, I think I've got this figured out. I'm still a novis using Linux so some of the questions I ask probably don't make a lot of sense to the experts :)

On most other distros of Linux that I have used there are graphical based utilities that let you change the video resolution to suit the type of monitor installed. In Arch Linux it appears that I will need to edit configuration files manually to try and get the desired resolution (1680 x 1050).

I went ahead and installed the LiveCD on my hard drive and time permitting I will see what I can come up with for setting the resolution.

During the hard disk install I was allowed to set the root password so that problem is resolved.

Thanks,

Brad

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests