Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.28.x releases only.
Locked
ExMM
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:20 pm

Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by ExMM »

Hi all,

I have been trying to setup PTZ control for the Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p camera.

Is that even possible?

I have been trying to use some Foscam profile as I know Amcrest is basically the same company, but without results, I keep getting errors like:

Control response was status = undefined
message = /usr/bin/zmcontrol.pl --tiltspeed=0 --command=moveConUp --id=3=>

Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2404
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by knight-of-ni »

PTZ commands for your camera are defined in chapter 7 of the Amcrest API, which is freely available off their website (Google told me):
https://s3.amazonaws.com/amcrest-files/ ... DK_API.pdf

The URL syntax is definitely NOT used by any Foscam camera I have seen, nor does it look similar to any of the control scripts we currently have.

You can try searching our Wiki to see if anyone has added content that mentions configManager.cgi, but I suspect you are going to have to roll up your sleeves and write a ptz control script for this camera.

It should be relatively straightforward. You start with an existing script, like one of the Foscams, rename it to something else, and then edit each of the PTZ commands in the script with the equivalent "configManager.cgi" url.
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/
ExMM
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by ExMM »

Thank you so much knnniggett for your help, and sorry for posting this issue on Github... :wink:

I was looking for a pdf like that, but since its my first time to setup everything I wasn't sure where to look, no content found online for Zoneminder and Amcrest unfortunately.

I will take my time and set up step by step the PTZ, hope I can do it, I will definitely share the file if I'll be successful.

Thanks again,
User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2404
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by knight-of-ni »

The amount of documentation for your camera on the Amcrest website is a lot better than most:
https://amcrest.com/amcrest-1080p-wifi- ... ra-pt.html

Look on the left. There is a section labelled Documentation with several files available for download, including the API.
It is probably worth your time to go through all that information.
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/
ExMM
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by ExMM »

Got it thanks again!

I'll definitely start to work on it asap, I need the PTZ to work.
JRFrogman
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by JRFrogman »

Did you figure this out? I bought this camera thinking it would be fairly simple to get it going but I was wrong.

I do have the API docs but I still need some help with where to start. I can see the camera with a web browser but can't seem to get it going in Zoneminder. I have tried all the RST examples as well and still no joy.
CBCamguy
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:31 pm

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by CBCamguy »

I have the basic stream working for the IP2M-841 in Zoneminder. Source type is ffmpg, source path rtsp://admin:passw0rd@192.168.0.100:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&subtype=0. (Subtype 0 = HQ, subtype 1 = SD). RTP/RTSP, 24 bit color, 1920x1080.

Unfortunately I'm still struggling with the PTZ. I'm trying to debug using chapter 7 of the API doc and basic HTTP commands before creating the ZM script. For instance, to move the camera down I use the following:

http://192.168.0.100/cgi-bin/ptz.cgi?action=start&channel=0&code=Down&arg1=0&arg2=1&arg3=0&arg4=0.

The camera moves, but it always moves to the full down position. I want to move in increments, say 10 degrees at a time. I've tried the "Relatively" option for this (see below), but it always returns an error:

http://192.168.0.100/cgi-bin/ptz.cgi?action=start&channel=0&code=Relatively&arg1=0&arg2=10&arg3=0&arg4=0

The PositionABS function works:

http://192.168.0.100/cgi-bin/ptz.cgi?action=start&channel=0&code=PositionABS&arg1=180&arg2=45&arg3=0&arg4=0

GotoPreset also works:

http://192.168.0.100/cgi-bin/ptz.cgi?action=start&channel=0&code=GotoPreset&arg1=0&arg2=1&arg3=0&arg4=0

Anyone had luck on either 1) limiting the movement of the Up/Down/Left/Right commands or 2) successfully using the "Relatively" command for movement? I suppose option 3 would be directions for the ONVIF setup, but I haven't had luck there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
sogood007
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 6:53 pm

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by sogood007 »

CBCamguy wrote:I have the basic stream working for the IP2M-841 in Zoneminder. Source type is ffmpg, source path rtsp://admin:passw0rd@192.168.0.100:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&subtype=0. (Subtype 0 = HQ, subtype 1 = SD). RTP/RTSP, 24 bit color, 1920x1080.

Unfortunately I'm still struggling with the PTZ. I'm trying to debug using chapter 7 of the API doc and basic HTTP commands before creating the ZM script. For instance, to move the camera down I use the following:

http://192.168.0.100/cgi-bin/ptz.cgi?ac ... 3=0&arg4=0.

The camera moves, but it always moves to the full down position. I want to move in increments, say 10 degrees at a time. I've tried the "Relatively" option for this (see below), but it always returns an error:
Disclaimer: I don't have this camera but has interests to get one.

The manual seems imply need to use action=start and action=stop (pair)to move in increment, as the arg2 is the speed of the move. So I assume you can try
http://192.168.0.100/cgi-bin/ptz.cgi?ac ... 3=0&arg4=0.
http://192.168.0.100/cgi-bin/ptz.cgi?ac ... 3=0&arg4=0.

For the Relatively, I wonder the argument is out of range. What was the current position when you use Relatively (did you try arg1 instead of arg2?)

Hope you can figure that out.
alabamatoy
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:53 pm

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by alabamatoy »

Any progress on the Amcrest PTZ configuration?
alabamatoy
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:53 pm

Re: Help to setup PTZ for Amcrest ip2m-841b pro hd 1080p

Post by alabamatoy »

Crosspost, further information here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=25473&p=97389
Locked