Logitech webcam won't show display

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.24.x releases only.
fedora
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:30 am

Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby fedora » Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:42 am

Hello.
sorry if this been posted before but im desperate!
i've installed zoneminder on ubuntu 11.04, fedora15 & centos5.6 successfully
and now im trying zoneminder virtual appliance.
im using Logitech Pro 4000
the Webcam is working FINE with Cheese and Camorama

added the camera in the "add new monitor" option and its always Black\Blank screen!
been googleing about it for DAYSSS but cant find any solution for this :evil:

thanks for ANY help :)


fedora
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:30 am

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby fedora » Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:10 am

thanks for your reply.
after following the instructions... still no success!
and now i cant load the zoneminder webpage at all ! :cry:

fedora
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:30 am

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby fedora » Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:24 am

ok just 1 mistake
after a reboot i can login to the zoneminder webpage again
but still after adding the camera its just Black\Blank screen!

PacoLM
Posts: 901
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby PacoLM » Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:13 am

Have a look to your logs (/var/log/syslog) and check if it complains about shared memory settings.

mini-ITX system (6 IPCams - Ubuntu14.04 - ZM1.29 - ZMNinja)

fedora
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:30 am

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby fedora » Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:30 am

ok not really sure what im suppose to look inside the file
but i posted a screenshot of what look to me the most relevant lines!
is this the right part?

p.s
forgot to mention im running the machine inside VMware Workstation8
Attachments
zm.jpg
zm.jpg (161.62 KiB) Viewed 2686 times

PacoLM
Posts: 901
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby PacoLM » Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:15 pm

Create a file called checksharedmemory.sh with these lines and chmod +x:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
# Copyright (C) 2010 Chris "Pada" Kistner
# Modified by PacoLM to check only shared memory settings
# This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or
# modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License
# as published by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2
# of the License, or (at your option) any later version.
# if you find errors, check that coreutils are installed, if not, run the command below
# apt-get -y install coreutils bc
echo "--- Checking memory setting..."
page_size=$(getconf PAGE_SIZE)
mem_bytes=$(awk '/MemTotal:/ { printf "%0.f",$2 * 1024}' /proc/meminfo)
mb=1048576
mem_bytes_mb=$(expr $mem_bytes / $mb)
shmmax=$(echo "$mem_bytes * 0.90" | bc | cut -f 1 -d '.')
shmmax_mb=$(expr $shmmax / $mb)
shmall=$(expr $mem_bytes / $page_size)
shmmax_cur=$(sysctl -n kernel.shmmax)
shmmax_cur_mb=$(expr $shmmax_cur / $mb)
shmall_cur=$(sysctl -n kernel.shmall)
echo "-- Total memory = $mem_bytes B = $mem_bytes_mb MB"
echo "-- Page size = $page_size B"
echo "-- Current kernel.shmmax = $shmmax_cur B = $shmmax_cur_mb MB"
echo "-- Current kernel.shmall = $shmall_cur pages"
if [ "$shmmax" -eq "$shmmax_cur" ] && [ "$shmall" -eq "$shmall_cur" ]; then
    echo "-- Recommended shm values already set"
else
    echo "-- Recommended: kernel.shmmax = $shmmax B = $shmmax_mb MB"
    echo "-- Recommended: kernel.shmall = $shmall pages"
fi
# Done
echo "--- Done."


Run the script and get the values, copy the values at the end of the file /etc/sysctl.conf, for instance:
kernel.shmall = 128350
kernel.shmmax = 473149440

Reload the values using sysctl -p , or reboot

Hope it helps,

PacoLM

mini-ITX system (6 IPCams - Ubuntu14.04 - ZM1.29 - ZMNinja)

fedora
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:30 am

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby fedora » Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:08 pm

thanks
been following the instructions... but cannot run the script!
was trying also chmod u+x

please check my screenshot
Attachments
script.jpg
script.jpg (43.74 KiB) Viewed 2670 times

PacoLM
Posts: 901
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby PacoLM » Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:21 pm

Here's attached, I think you removed the #.
Attachments
checksharedmemory.zip
(818 Bytes) Downloaded 130 times

mini-ITX system (6 IPCams - Ubuntu14.04 - ZM1.29 - ZMNinja)

fedora
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:30 am

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby fedora » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:16 am

ok finally was able to run the script!
copied the values
(as you can see in the screenshot the sysctl.conf already had values so i added # to them)
anyway i tried adding the camera again with PAL\NTSC
and still Black screen :(

whats wrong with that ?
Attachments
sysctl.jpg
sysctl.jpg (33.82 KiB) Viewed 2660 times

FullMoonMadness
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Logitech webcam won't show display

Postby FullMoonMadness » Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:18 am

I just got a Logitech Quickcam E 3500 going, albeit at a low resolution. I'd recommend starting with the lowest resolution. Once picture is working, then you can graduate to higher resolutions.

The pdf at this link came in handy: http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=logitech%20uvc%20frame&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CEgQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.quickcamteam.net%2Fdevices%2Flogitech_uvc_frame_format_list.pdf&ei=zaewTqTtH4yGsAKTp9jBAQ&usg=AFQjCNEd0oxg9fupr8roTO9cifhw0vuUNQ&cad=rja

I opened terminal and ran "lsusb". The last four digits of my ID corresponded with some of the info in the pdf.


Return to “ZoneMinder 1.24.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests