no bttv for Pico video capture card in Ubuntu 8.10

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
cyrulution
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: Kinzweiler, Germany and Beith, Scotland
Contact:

no bttv for Pico video capture card in Ubuntu 8.10

Postby cyrulution » Sun Nov 30, 2008 9:32 pm

after upgrading Ubuntu to 8.10 (Intrepid) my so named "Pico-card" (in Zoneminder-Wiki) disappeared from dmesg. There is no "bttv" at all any more. That's all about the card in dmesg:

Code: Select all

[    0.697858] PCI: 0000:01:00.0 reg 10 32bit mmio: [de000000, deffffff]
[    0.697868] PCI: 0000:01:00.0 reg 14 32bit mmio: [d0000000, d7ffffff]
[    0.697895] PCI: 0000:01:00.0 reg 30 32bit mmio: [dfdf0000, dfdfffff]
....
[    2.041795] pci 0000:01:00.0: Boot video device

and lspci says:

Code: Select all

02:0d.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt879(??) Video Capture (rev 11)
02:0d.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)

How can I tell Unbuntu, that there is a card that used to work in Gutsy?
Serenity is not freedom from storm; it's peace within the storm

Lee Sharp
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Postby Lee Sharp » Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:08 am

It is is a 4 port single chip card, try this in the options file.

Code: Select all

options bttv gbuffers=32 card=77 tuner=4 radio=0 coring=1 full_luma_range=1 chroma_agc=1 combfilter=1 autoload=0 triton1=0 vsfx=0

cyrulution
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: Kinzweiler, Germany and Beith, Scotland
Contact:

Postby cyrulution » Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:06 pm

I inserted your line in a new file bttv in /etc/modprobe.d/

But still the same:
nothing about bttv in dmesg
the same two lines in lspci

the system does almost not recognize, that there is a video capture card. How can I tell the system about the card?
As far as I know is bttv contained in the 2.26-10 kernel. Or will I have to add it?

help!
Serenity is not freedom from storm; it's peace within the storm

Lee Sharp
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Postby Lee Sharp » Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:30 pm

Boot a Gutsy Live CD and see what dmesg says... This could be a Hardy issue. (It has a lot)

cyrulution
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: Kinzweiler, Germany and Beith, Scotland
Contact:

Postby cyrulution » Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:08 pm

Lee Sharp wrote:Boot a Gutsy Live CD and see what dmesg says... This could be a Hardy issue. (It has a lot)


The system running now is Intrepid (8.10). I started a Gutsy (7.10) Live CD and it says:

Code: Select all

[  108.398434] bttv: driver version 0.9.17 loaded
[  108.398441] bttv: using 8 buffers with 2080k (520 pages) each for capture
[  108.475751] bt878: AUDIO driver version 0.0.0 loaded
[  108.475847] bt878: Bt878 AUDIO function found (0).
[  108.475881] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:0d.1[A] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 20
[  108.475892] bt878_probe: card id=[0x0], Unknown card.
[  108.475894] Exiting..
[  108.475900] ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:02:0d.1 disabled
[  108.475908] bt878: probe of 0000:02:0d.1 failed with error -22


There's nothing like that in Intrepid dmesg ...
Serenity is not freedom from storm; it's peace within the storm

Lee Sharp
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Postby Lee Sharp » Wed Dec 03, 2008 5:04 pm

Odd... Try Ubuntu forums, and launchpad to bug the non-detection. Another regression in Ubuntu. PM me if you need help with this process. In the mean time, Gutsy works! :D

ivanjones
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:07 pm

Postby ivanjones » Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:09 pm

Lee Sharp wrote:It is is a 4 port single chip card, try this in the options file.

Code: Select all

options bttv gbuffers=32 card=77 tuner=4 radio=0 coring=1 full_luma_range=1 chroma_agc=1 combfilter=1 autoload=0 triton1=0 vsfx=0


Lee / Anybody, I'm new to Zoneminder and Linux...where / how do i set these options?

Thanks

chenko
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:24 pm

Postby chenko » Sat Dec 13, 2008 2:21 pm

Can vary slightly.

If you have an /etc/modules.conf add it there.

If you have a /etc/modprobe.d/ folder add it to a file called bttv in that folder (file can be called what you want too...)

You might have an update-modules command to refresh them, or just restart.

cyrulution
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: Kinzweiler, Germany and Beith, Scotland
Contact:

Postby cyrulution » Sun Jan 11, 2009 11:05 am

I tried everything and I think it's not possible to get ZM running with Ubuntu 8.10 with the so named "Pico" (=cheap ebay) cards.
I will just install the three years old life CD and hope I will be able to fix all security issues since 2006.
Serenity is not freedom from storm; it's peace within the storm

buzz_host
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:45 pm

Postby buzz_host » Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:40 am

Lee Sharp wrote:This could be a Hardy issue. (It has a lot)


I can't speak for Hardy, but 8.10 (Ibex) is pretty flawless for me with these cards. I have two working in one box - I've done nothing magic and I'm quite happy to output anything that would be useful to anyone.

User avatar
cordel
Posts: 5210
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:47 pm
Location: /USA/Washington/Seattle
Contact:

Postby cordel » Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:50 am

Really I have no problems with hardy. I have seen a lot more with 8.10 since it's release, seems now the forum is getting flooded with 8.10 bttv issues all of a sudden.

cyrulution
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: Kinzweiler, Germany and Beith, Scotland
Contact:

Postby cyrulution » Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:03 am

I haven't found a way to tell Ubuntu Feisty about my card=77. It simply was not able to use my video capture card. Now I have found a 1.23 live CD (the links in Wiki about "live CD" lead to the download. The links in "download" have only an old 1.22 version. I think I might get used to Madriva Linux, especially as it's not so much work any more, after the system is running.
Serenity is not freedom from storm; it's peace within the storm

cyrulution
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: Kinzweiler, Germany and Beith, Scotland
Contact:

Postby cyrulution » Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:11 am

cordel wrote:Really I have no problems with hardy. I have seen a lot more with 8.10 since it's release, seems now the forum is getting flooded with 8.10 bttv issues all of a sudden.


Cordel, do you have the so named "Pico" card (cheap chinese ebay)? Hardy has the same new structure with modprobe as 8.10. How did you tell Hardy about card=77 ? I haven't found a way in Intrepid.
Serenity is not freedom from storm; it's peace within the storm

User avatar
cordel
Posts: 5210
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:47 pm
Location: /USA/Washington/Seattle
Contact:

Postby cordel » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:22 am

Both are set the same way.

Create a file in /etc/modprobe.d name it anything you want.
ie.
name a file capturecards.

Code: Select all

vim /etc/modprobe.d/capturecards


Insert your option line.

Code: Select all

options bttv card=77


save the file and either unload and reload bttv or reboot the system.

cyrulution
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: Kinzweiler, Germany and Beith, Scotland
Contact:

Postby cyrulution » Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:55 am

cordel wrote:Create a file in /etc/modprobe.d name it anything you want.
ie.
name a file capturecards.

Code: Select all

vim /etc/modprobe.d/capturecards


Insert your option line.

Code: Select all

options bttv card=77


save the file and either unload and reload bttv or reboot the system.


I tried it this way but my problem is: in dmesg there is nothing about bttv. Not before and not after the line in modprobe.d. Intrepid just seems not to recognize the ebay-card at all. In Gutsy it had not been a problem.
Serenity is not freedom from storm; it's peace within the storm


Return to “Hardware Queries”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests