Make ZoneMinder accessible at "zm.mydomain.com"?

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.32.x releases only.
rockedge
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: Make ZoneMinder accessible at "zm.mydomain.com"?

Post by rockedge » Sun Jun 16, 2019 6:19 pm

@kitkat
that is a nice way of doing it as well...very cool

kitkat
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:17 pm

Re: Make ZoneMinder accessible at "zm.mydomain.com"?

Post by kitkat » Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:46 pm

Thanks, @rockedge - It's kind of quick-n-dirty, but it works and should be portable :)

Maybe the problem doing it the other way is that zm.mydomain.com doesn't have a proper virtual host set up in Apache, or if there is one that the ZM config directives are being applied outside of its scope?

I'm on CentOS so I don't have the a2* commands, and the locations of the configuration files and directories seem to be completely different to Ubuntu, but perhaps wrapping the existing zoneminder.conf in something like this is the way forwards?

Code: Select all

<VirtualHost ip.add.re.ss:80>
        ServerName zm.mydomain.com
        DocumentRoot /usr/share/zoneminder/www
        DirectoryIndex index.html index.php
        ServerAdmin webmaster@mydomain.com
	[...standard zm.conf goes here...]
</VirtualHost>

rockedge
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: Make ZoneMinder accessible at "zm.mydomain.com"?

Post by rockedge » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:24 am

I use the Hiawatha web server instead of Apache and a Puppy Linux from Ubuntu binaries which ZM sets up just as it does in Ubuntu.
I do not use the zoneminder.conf at all per say. Well translated into the config for Hiawatha which works really nicely with ZM.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ris2t and 3 guests