Windows Live Viewer..27-11-05 Now Complete Frontend for ZM!!

If you've made a patch to quick fix a bug or to add a new feature not yet in the main tree then post it here so others can try it out.
jameswilson
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:07 pm
Location: Midlands UK
Contact:

Post by jameswilson » Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:21 pm

you need to login as admin and admin first.
goto setup and enter your settings there, ie monitor setup etc and change your passwords to suit

James
James Wilson

Disclaimer: The above is pure theory and may work on a good day with the wind behind it. etc etc.
http://www.securitywarehouse.co.uk

wa4bro
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:39 am
Location: Roswell, GA. U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Can not install Viseon Viewer 2

Post by wa4bro » Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:05 am

faustux wrote:Hi,

I just installed the Vision Viewer 2 into my PC running Wn XP PRO.

I downloaded the zip folder and run the setup. The installation procceded and the program get installed on my PC. But when I opened, the user name and password window appeared and I used my DVR user name & password, but I got an error window: "invalid user name or password".

Where can I find the configuration part to input my DVR Server settings.

I will appreciatte your help on this.

Best Regards,

Faustux
On opening login in screen for 1st. use, Use admin as user and admin as password. You can then click on setup once in and change the admin user name password etc.

Dan

jameswilson
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:07 pm
Location: Midlands UK
Contact:

Post by jameswilson » Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:21 pm

just to let you know development on this hasnt stopped.
I have added a 'streaming server' option

This has been designed to get me out the ~!@$ on i site i have where the viewer (viewers in this case) overload the server.
The new settings allow you to have set your viewing ip as normal from a 'streaming server' and another ip (global at the moment) for playback
The streaming server is just another zm server set in the same way but getting it images from the main server (recording server) If all monitors on the streaming server are set to monitor, zm4ms will get it images from this server and will never increase the load of the main server (that only has 1 remote viewer ever connected to it)

Hopefully this will help me in my situation i will find out next week when i add the new server.

Another way round this problem would have been to have 2 servers and set zm4ms to get its images from each. This would be ok but with the streaming server as it is, even if 10000 clients try to connect to it, the recording server will never be overloaded.

James

PS not uploaded yet but when it is i will let you know
James Wilson

Disclaimer: The above is pure theory and may work on a good day with the wind behind it. etc etc.
http://www.securitywarehouse.co.uk

ajpalm
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 1:02 pm

Post by ajpalm » Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:49 am

Does anyone have a copy they can send me as the link appears to be dead?

jameswilson
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:07 pm
Location: Midlands UK
Contact:

Post by jameswilson » Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:11 pm

sorry I removed that version as i had to add some licence info and the current beta hasnt moved to stable yet. It could as i have no issues with and noone else has reported any. For the moent use the beta locatation at
http://217.154.38.122:8080/version2/zm4msbeta.zip

Any probs issues/comments let me know

James
James Wilson

Disclaimer: The above is pure theory and may work on a good day with the wind behind it. etc etc.
http://www.securitywarehouse.co.uk

brent@domainwizards.net
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:32 pm

outstanding!

Post by brent@domainwizards.net » Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:25 am

your work on this contrib i believe has really brought zm forward, once i figgured out that the port required the :infrontoftheportnumber zm4ms sprang to life.
Windows users (bless their M$ hearts) who grumbled and refused to use the http interface are now easy adopters in my world.

thanks!!!

brent in canada

jameswilson
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:07 pm
Location: Midlands UK
Contact:

Post by jameswilson » Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:29 am

glad you got it running and thankyou for your very kind comments

James
James Wilson

Disclaimer: The above is pure theory and may work on a good day with the wind behind it. etc etc.
http://www.securitywarehouse.co.uk

jameswilson
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:07 pm
Location: Midlands UK
Contact:

Post by jameswilson » Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:00 am

i must add.
Thbe zm web interface is the best interface if ANY cctv system i have ever seen. Unfortunatly users have this idea that they should run 'special' software to access their dvr. The main advantage to zm4ms is that its much easier to get it looking nice as its a limited platform. zm has to work with all browsers on all platforms. Virtually all dvr's that actuallyt have a web if use activex to make it pretty. I prefer a reliable, fast i/f. Just like zm. It amazes me how Phil get such functionality and power out of a web page.
Wish i could

James
James Wilson

Disclaimer: The above is pure theory and may work on a good day with the wind behind it. etc etc.
http://www.securitywarehouse.co.uk

Jiberjaber
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Jiberjaber » Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:57 pm

James,

I have been trying to get you Win32 app to work, it runs OK (had a few illegal operations before I managed to deleate your camera settings, it's fine now.).

I am stuggling to get the app to see my ZM server though.

I am using the following url (with the url box ticked)

http://192.168.1.5/cgi-bin/nph-zms?mode ... sswordhere>

No joy though!...

My zm installation is in a directory called "zm" on the server, so the normal url I use to get to the console is 192.168.1.5/zm I have tried adding the /zm to the url but that isnt where the cgi-bin directory is, so no luck there!

Any hints ?
------
Regards,

Jason

User avatar
zoneminder
Site Admin
Posts: 5220
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 2:07 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by zoneminder » Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:35 pm

Is there anything in your server logs to help? Try looking in /var/log/httpd/error_log (by default).

If that comes up clean, check the system log for errors from zms.

Phil
Phil

wa4bro
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:39 am
Location: Roswell, GA. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by wa4bro » Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:03 pm

Jiberjaber wrote:James,

I have been trying to get you Win32 app to work, it runs OK (had a few illegal operations before I managed to deleate your camera settings, it's fine now.).

I am stuggling to get the app to see my ZM server though.

I am using the following url (with the url box ticked)

http://192.168.1.5/cgi-bin/nph-zms?mode ... sswordhere>

No joy though!...

My zm installation is in a directory called "zm" on the server, so the normal url I use to get to the console is 192.168.1.5/zm I have tried adding the /zm to the url but that isnt where the cgi-bin directory is, so no luck there!

Any hints ?
Jason,

Try using the access int he ZM type of mode, Instead of using URL mode.

In Setup Screen
1. Go to the paths tab.
2. In live View path add your path ( In your case it would look like this )
/zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms

3. In the camera setup tab Just put your internal ip address of the zm server as the ip/url

4. Tab over and set your Monitor ID number in MON field. (You can leave PORT Blank)

Now depending on how you login to ZM and the type of auth you use you may need to set up the user login to match your zm login. If you have set up a stream user and stream pass in ZM, then you will want to use this as the user that you login in to the viewer, since you are internal accessing over your lan , I would just set up the viewer to use the user admin and the password set to your zm password. This just makes it fool proof depending on the type of auth you have setup in zm.

Save your settings and restart the viewer and re-login, everything should work now.

Dan

Jiberjaber
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Jiberjaber » Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:28 pm

Hi Dan,

Thanks for the step by step... tried it out but still no luck, all I see are small red cross icons in the monitor positions.

access_log shows that it is trying to connect thus:

Code: Select all

192.168.1.4 - - [11/Jan/2006:15:16:56 +0000] "GET /zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms?mode=single&monitor=19&scale=100&user=admin&pass=<password!>HTTP/1.1" 404 293 "-" "-"
192.168.1.4 - - [11/Jan/2006:15:16:56 +0000] "GET /zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms?mode=single&monitor=20&scale=100&user=admin&pass=<password!> HTTP/1.1" 404 293 "-" "-"
192.168.1.4 - - [11/Jan/2006:15:16:57 +0000] "GET /zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms?mode=single&monitor=19&scale=100&user=admin&pass=<password!> HTTP/1.1" 404 293 "-" "-"
192.168.1.4 - - [11/Jan/2006:15:16:57 +0000] "GET /zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms?mode=single&monitor=20&scale=100&user=admin&pass=<password!> HTTP/1.1" 404 293 "-" "-"
Nothing in the logs /tmp/zm*

However error_log shows:

[Wed Jan 11 15:23:29 2006] [error] [client 192.168.1.4] File does not exist: /var/www/html/zm/cgi-bin

If I copy the cgi-bin dir into the zm dir, with perms set to 755 I still get a load of permision issues in the errors_log file:

Code: Select all

[Wed Jan 11 15:24:52 2006] [error] [client 192.168.1.4] mod_mime_magic: can't read `/var/www/html/zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms'
[Wed Jan 11 15:24:52 2006] [error] [client 192.168.1.4] mod_mime_magic: can't read `/var/www/html/zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms'
[Wed Jan 11 15:24:52 2006] [error] [client 192.168.1.4] (13)Permission denied: file permissions deny server access: /var/www/html/zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms
[Wed Jan 11 15:24:52 2006] [error] [client 192.168.1.4] (13)Permission denied: file permissions deny server access: /var/www/html/zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms
But... after copying the files, I now get a sort of progress bar on each view as it is trying to update, which is slightly more progress :)

Any further thoughts ?

TIA :)
------
Regards,

Jason

wa4bro
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:39 am
Location: Roswell, GA. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by wa4bro » Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:50 pm

Can you get an image direct from an http:// call? from your browser ?

If so what is the complete URL you are using ?

Where is nph-zms located ? ( Path from root?)

Yea the log above indicates a 404 error indicating the file or path does not exist. I think you are still dealing with a path problem for sure. The stream user and pass looks ok for admin permissions to zm so what it is calling should work if the paths work with a standard browser call.

Dan

seb3s
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:27 am
Location: Paris, France

Source code ?

Post by seb3s » Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:38 pm

Hi James,
I installed zm4ms and it looks really nice. I had one of the first version and it has really improved quickly to a fully useful version now.

Do you plan to release the source code sometime ? If yes, where is it available ? If no, do you have plan for making it possible to translate zm4ms into other languages.

Thanks for a great viewer.
Sebastien.

jameswilson
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:07 pm
Location: Midlands UK
Contact:

Post by jameswilson » Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:36 pm

i do plan on relaesing a version as open source oce its more sort of finished. I plan on adding a watermarking bit to exporting images, this i will not release for obvious reasons. You would need a copy of visual studio.net to edit it though.

Regarding the language thing i thought this might come up. What do you think needs changing and into what language.

James
James Wilson

Disclaimer: The above is pure theory and may work on a good day with the wind behind it. etc etc.
http://www.securitywarehouse.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests