zoneminder patch to options screen

If you've made a patch to quick fix a bug or to add a new feature not yet in the main tree then post it here so others can try it out.
Post Reply
bovine
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:11 am

zoneminder patch to options screen

Post by bovine » Sun Apr 01, 2012 4:51 pm

Here's a patch I made that improves a couple of minor usability concerns in the options screens of the default skin (remove the spaces):

http :// gist . github . com / 2271967

display configuration help in a tooltip or alert box rather than a new window. It seems rather wasteful to create yet another browser window just for a very small amount of text, especially since it's easy enough for that window to lose focus and lost behind so many other windows already opened. So now you can hover over the "?" to see the tip, or if you click on it the text will open in a modal browser alert box.

make configuration radio buttons easier to click by using labels. This lets you click on the words associated with the radio button (like "hashed", "plain", or "none"), and can also be considered an accessibility/screen-reader improvement.

User avatar
nightcrawler
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:54 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: zoneminder patch to options screen

Post by nightcrawler » Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:12 pm

Hey thats nice,

can you tell me how I install this web-skins-classic-views-options.php.DIFF file?
Just rename&replace the old file to .php (remove DIFF) isn't right or does it?
Zoneminder @Ubuntu 11 server, ZM 1.25.0 , FFMPEG, 4 Analoge cameras, 1.6ghz P4mobile, 2GB ram, 60GB-HDD.
I also have an (homeseer) domotica system up-and-running with touchscreens,light controllers,weather forecast etc.

bovine
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:11 am

Re: zoneminder patch to options screen

Post by bovine » Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:32 pm

nightcrawler wrote:Hey thats nice,

can you tell me how I install this web-skins-classic-views-options.php.DIFF file?
Just rename&replace the old file to .php (remove DIFF) isn't right or does it?
It is just a standard "diff" file, so you need to use the "patch" utility to apply it. For example, save the web-skins-classic-views-options.php.diff file to disk and run "patch -p1 < web-skins-classic-views-options.php.diff" from the /usr/share/zoneminder/www/ directory or wherever your zoneminder web files were installed.

Or since it's a relatively short patch, you can look at the lines being changed (red lines are the old lines, green lines are new ones) and manually edit the options.php file with your favorite editor.

User avatar
nightcrawler
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:54 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: zoneminder patch to options screen

Post by nightcrawler » Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:57 pm

tnx bovine,

the patch works great (had to mod the patch a bit because the /web/ directory isn't the directory for my HTML files but that's no problem).
Nice pop-up boxes when I press the ? mark.
Zoneminder @Ubuntu 11 server, ZM 1.25.0 , FFMPEG, 4 Analoge cameras, 1.6ghz P4mobile, 2GB ram, 60GB-HDD.
I also have an (homeseer) domotica system up-and-running with touchscreens,light controllers,weather forecast etc.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest