Amcrest PTZ functionality

If you've made a patch to quick fix a bug or to add a new feature not yet in the main tree then post it here so others can try it out.
alabamatoy
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:53 pm

Re: Amcrest PTZ functionality

Post by alabamatoy » Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:32 pm

All of this discussion of the type of authentication is interesting, but I am inclined to think its a Zoneminder version or operating system issue, not an issue with the Amcrest cameras themselves....despite the evidence to the contrary. Why would all this work so nicely on mine and fail on others? I have a brand new Amcrest POE PTZ camera that I added to my setup just a few weeks ago, and it works fine with my original script.

I dont object to someone finding flaws in my ugly, probably-poorly designed script. But I am fearful that people are chasing the wrong root cause of the problem because it works fine on my setup, and has been for months. Is there a flaw in this thinking?

simonlok
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:05 pm

Re: Amcrest PTZ functionality

Post by simonlok » Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:25 pm

Which model of camera and which firmware version are you running?

This is what I have:

Software Version2.520.AC00.18.R, Build Date: 2017-06-29
WEB Version3.2.1.453504
ONVIF Version2.42 (V2.2.2.428697)

On the version of software stated above the CGI PTZ API reports 401 Unauthorized to all HTTP Basic authentication requests.

Based on my reading of the Amcrest support forum they removed support for HTTP Basic and require HTTP Digest authentication in their recent firmware.

alabamatoy
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:53 pm

Re: Amcrest PTZ functionality

Post by alabamatoy » Fri Feb 23, 2018 9:18 pm

Isnt this controlled by CURL? Is not CURL what the script is using to commo with the camera?

I cannot tell you the details of the camera unless there is some way to get that remotely - I am about 120 miles from my cameras!

alabamatoy
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:53 pm

Re: Amcrest PTZ functionality

Post by alabamatoy » Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:26 pm

Cross-posting, another user seems to have figured out a fix: viewtopic.php?f=36&t=27093#p105188

alabamatoy
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:53 pm

Re: Amcrest PTZ functionality

Post by alabamatoy » Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:53 pm

iconnor wrote:
Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:14 pm
Hey alabamatoy, can I assist you in getting this into ZoneMinder?

Do you have plans to do so, or can I just grab the script and make a PR in your name?
This code apparently never made it into the repo. My new 1.32.3 install has no amcrest control scripts. Oh well, I know yall got a lot going on.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests