Assign monitors to specific server NIC to spread net load

Anything you want added or changed in future versions of ZoneMinder? Post here and there's a chance it will get in! Search to make sure it hasn't already been requested.
Post Reply
thor95
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:04 pm

Assign monitors to specific server NIC to spread net load

Post by thor95 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:11 pm

Would this be useful to anyone else?
I'd like to be able to assign each camera monitor to receive video from a specified NIC on the server in order to spread the network load on the server.
The CPU and Hard Drives can keep up, but network load on a single NIC seems to be high.

User avatar
iconnor
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:43 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Assign monitors to specific server NIC to spread net load

Post by iconnor » Thu Jul 16, 2020 1:49 pm

I'm not sure how you would actually do that.

Instead look at nic bonding.
Otherwise use multiple actual networks with multiple nics.

No need for ZM to support this, it is an underlying networking thing.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests