jpeg SIMD (MMX) success!

Support and queries relating to all previous versions of ZoneMinder
Flasheart
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:27 pm

Post by Flasheart » Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:06 pm

New machine - AMD-64-X2, running a 32-bit SMP kernel.

Similar success - reduction of around a half of load and cpu usage.

Now running modect on 12 cams at mid fph VGA b&w, each CPU showing 15-30% load.

collinm
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 1:10 am

Post by collinm » Fri Feb 23, 2007 2:00 am

i have problem to build it

Code: Select all

./configure
bash: ./configure: /bin/bash^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory.
no problem with other bash script

i use suse 10.2

Flash_
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Flash_ » Sat Feb 24, 2007 8:36 am

The ^M suggests your configure file has been tainted with windows' line endings.

Try a new copy or use dos2unix or similar to convert ALL the files in that archive to unix format and give it another go.

collinm
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 1:10 am

Post by collinm » Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:26 pm

Flash_ wrote:The ^M suggests your configure file has been tainted with windows' line endings.

Try a new copy or use dos2unix or similar to convert ALL the files in that archive to unix format and give it another go.
ok thanks

anyway, i use linux 64bits.... and this library don't support it

ryan_marsh
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 6:50 pm

Post by ryan_marsh » Tue May 22, 2007 4:05 pm

How can I tell if the binary RPM's available on their site are compile with --enable-shared?

jameswilson
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:07 pm
Location: Midlands UK
Contact:

Post by jameswilson » Wed May 23, 2007 1:50 am

id hoped there would be more support for this (ie another source) by now. BUt i cant answer your question. Might be worth a search to see if anyone else has done something similar.
James Wilson

Disclaimer: The above is pure theory and may work on a good day with the wind behind it. etc etc.
http://www.securitywarehouse.co.uk

KegRaider
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Townsville/Queensland/Australia
Contact:

Works a treat.

Post by KegRaider » Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:57 pm

I just upgraded my system to an AM2 Semperon based machine. Very sweet CPU over the old Pentium III 866.

Anyway,

I just installed via my SSH (putty) window easily enough. I'm using the liveCD 1.22.3

1. wget http://cetus.sakura.ne.jp/softlab/jpeg- ... .02.tar.gz
2. tar xzvf jpegsrc-6b-x86simd-1.02.tar.gz
3. wget http://optusnet.dl.sourceforge.net/sour ... 1.i386.rpm
4. rpm -Uvh nasm-0.98.39-1.i386.rpm
5. cd jpeg-6bx/
6. ./configure --enable-shared
7. make
8. service zm stop
9. make install
10. ldconfig
11. service zm start

Halved my already miniscule CPU usage. Averaging about 7% now! :D

--> Troy.

agoodm
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Post by agoodm » Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:28 pm

I followed the last posters instructions pretty much.

Marked improvement in performance.

I run an Intel Celeron 2.8ghz, 512mb ram 300gig IDE HDD
4 cameras 12 fps on mocord.

denis
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:08 pm

Post by denis » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:22 pm

i'm running debian sid.
./configure --enable-shared
make

and i obtain an error when nasm is executed:
jccolmmx.asm:403: error: mismatch in operand sizes

someone have ideas?

User avatar
Blazer
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Post by Blazer » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:20 pm

I had similar success with this. My load average is now .80! This should be made a sticky, and noted in the Zm docs :)

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by Lee Sharp » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:59 pm

Anyone have success with a Debian based system? (Like Ubuntu) :)

Flasheart
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:27 pm

Post by Flasheart » Fri Oct 12, 2007 7:24 am

Lee Sharp wrote:Anyone have success with a Debian based system? (Like Ubuntu) :)
Sure:
Ok, a bit behind the rest of you, but I've just installed the libs on both my Quad Xeon and the Athlon-64.

Both OS's running Debian Etch (Testing), both CPU sets have MMX capabilities. (Confirmed with cpuid)

Install as given by james.

make install failed on both machines due to:
/usr/bin/install: cannot create regular file `/usr/local/man/man1/cjpeg.1': No such file or directory

Easily fixed with a "mkdir /usr/local/man/man1" (Both my installs only had man4). Re-run make install, fine.

Xeon load before: 3.16 after: 1.86 (Rising to 2.50 depending on alarms)
Athlon load before: 0.86 after: 0.35 (Rising to 0.Cool

No difference in usage that I can see. Thanks dbosso

haus
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:10 am

Post by haus » Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:56 am

Lee Sharp wrote:Anyone have success with a Debian based system? (Like Ubuntu) :)
Not sure yet if load is different; this is such a new setup to me that I can't reliably compare load averages, but here's what I did after some trial and error and a few trips over to ubuntuforums.org:

Code: Select all

wget http://cetus.sakura.ne.jp/softlab/jpeg-x86simd/sources/jpegsrc-6b-x86simd-1.02.tar.gz 

tar xzvf jpegsrc-6b-x86simd-1.02.tar.gz  
 
apt-get install build-essential

apt-get install nasm

cd j* (I'm lazy, yes)

./configure --enable-shared

make

<<stop ZM in web console; "service zm stop" fails with an error that I don't have "service" installed or something like that>>

make install

ldconfig

<<start ZM in web console again>>
Done?

I'm a newbie, sort of wandering in the dark, but the above seems to have "not failed' with Ubuntu 7.04 server (Feisty?).

My load average seems lower. It's .04 to .15 with a 6-monitor montage going and 3 modetects (3 are just set to monitor). It was bouncing between .5 and 1.2 earlier this evening. Keep in mind that as part of this install I restarted ZM; that might clean things up a bit so it's not scientific.

Hope that helps another newcomer.

trevorj
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:39 pm
Contact:

Post by trevorj » Mon Nov 26, 2007 4:20 pm

Is this all that is needed to switch ZM to read the new library? Please advise.

henke
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:16 am

Post by henke » Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:16 pm

Really strange but for me on fc2 and quad-core intel cpu this just increased the load and made the whole machine reboot itself every 3h.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests