gentoo, zoneminder & autoconf

Support and queries relating to all previous versions of ZoneMinder
Locked
Weedy Gonzales
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:06 am

gentoo, zoneminder & autoconf

Post by Weedy Gonzales »

Hi!

I installed zoneminder on my eeepc running on ubuntu-eee. Works fine! I find it a really great program! So I tried to install zm on my desktop pc running on gentoo (2.6.25-gentoo-r7). Fortunately, zoneminder was added to the portage tree, so I can emerge it. Unfortunately, during merging the package, autoconf gives the following error:


Code: Select all

tux workstation # emerge zoneminder
Calculating dependencies... done!
>>> Verifying ebuild Manifests...

>>> Emerging (1 of 1) www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3 to /
 * ZoneMinder-1.23.3.tar.gz RMD160 SHA1 SHA256 size ;-) ...               [ ok ]
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                      [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                     [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                    [ ok ]
 * checking ZoneMinder-1.23.3.tar.gz ;-) ...                              [ ok ]
 * 
 * Using dev-lang/php-5.2.6-r7
 * 
 * Checking for required PHP feature(s) ...
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking ZoneMinder-1.23.3.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3/work
 * Applying Makefile.am.patch ...                                         [ ok ]
 * Applying zm_create.sql.in.patch ...                                    [ ok ]
 * Applying zm_remote_camera.patch ...                                    [ ok ]
 * Running eautoreconf in '/var/tmp/portage/www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3/work/ZoneMinder-1.23.3' ...
 * Running aclocal ...                                                    [ ok ]
 * Running autoconf ...                                                   [ !! ]

 * Failed Running autoconf !
 * 
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 * 
 *   /var/tmp/portage/www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3/temp/autoconf-8225.out

 * 
 * ERROR: www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_unpack
 *             environment, line 3336:  Called eautoreconf
 *             environment, line  940:  Called eautoconf
 *             environment, line  883:  Called autotools_run_tool 'src_unpack'
 *             environment, line  389:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *           die "Failed Running $1 !";
 *  The die message:
 *   Failed Running autoconf !
 * 
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3/temp/environment'.
 * 
/var/tmp/portage/www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3/temp/autoconf-8225.out:

Code: Select all

***** autoconf *****
***** autoconf

aclocal.m4:124: error: m4_defn: undefined macro: _m4_divert_diversion
aclocal.m4:124: the top level
autom4te-2.61: /usr/bin/m4 failed with exit status: 1

A little bit of googleing gave me (from autoconf documentation):
New Macros
----------

Because Autoconf has been dormant for years, Automake provided
Autoconf-like macros for a while. Autoconf 2.50 now provides better
versions of these macros, integrated in the `AC_' namespace, instead of
`AM_'. But in order to ease the upgrading via `autoupdate', bindings
to such `AM_' macros are provided.

Unfortunately Automake did not quote the name of these macros!
Therefore, when `m4' finds something like `AC_DEFUN(AM_TYPE_PTRDIFF_T,
...)' in `aclocal.m4', `AM_TYPE_PTRDIFF_T' is expanded, replaced with
its Autoconf definition.

Fortunately Autoconf catches pre-`AC_INIT' expansions, and will
complain, in its own words:

$ cat configure.in
AC_INIT
AM_TYPE_PTRDIFF_T
$ aclocal-1.4
$ autoconf
./aclocal.m4:17: error: m4_defn: undefined macro: _m4_divert_diversion
actypes.m4:289: AM_TYPE_PTRDIFF_T is expanded from...
./aclocal.m4:17: the top level
$

Future versions of Automake will simply no longer define most of
these macros, and will properly quote the names of the remaining macros.
But you don't have to wait for it to happen to do the right thing right
now: do not depend upon macros from Automake as it is simply not its job
to provide macros (but the one it requires by itself):

$ cat configure.in
AC_INIT
AM_TYPE_PTRDIFF_T
$ rm aclocal.m4
$ autoupdate
autoupdate: `configure.in' is updated
$ cat configure.in
AC_INIT
AC_CHECK_TYPES([ptrdiff_t])
$ aclocal-1.4
$ autoconf
$
So it tells me why I get this error, but I don't see how to fix this. I tried to install an older version of autoconf (even if I don't like this idea), but I can't find one in portage.


I also tried to install from source. After hours of google, installing deps, configuring, reconfiguring, rererereconfiguring, building and rebuilding etc. I managed to compile witout any errors.
For configuring I used

Code: Select all

./configure --with-mysql=/usr --with-webdir=/var/www/localhost/htdocs --with-cgidir=/var/www/localhost --with-ffmpeg=/usr/include
I started the zm init-script which also worked fine, but I couldn't open the zm console in my browser
Unable to connect
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at localhost.
This one might be a problem with my configuration (files not copied to proper places). I only post it to show that the installation of zm on my system in general should be possible. My general intention is to install via emerge.

Any help is appreciated!

Greetz
Weedy G.
User avatar
cordel
Posts: 5210
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:47 pm
Location: /USA/Washington/Seattle

Re: gentoo, zoneminder & autoconf

Post by cordel »

Weedy Gonzales wrote:Unfortunately, during merging the package, autoconf gives the following error:

Code: Select all

 * Failed Running autoconf !
 * 
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 * 
 *   /var/tmp/portage/www-misc/zoneminder-1.23.3/temp/autoconf-8225.out

 * 
Unable to connect
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at localhost.
Greetz
Weedy G.
You will have to send the bug report to the address reported from ubuntus package, We don't maintain the package here and I don't even know who maintains it my self.

As for your other problem have you started Apache?
Weedy Gonzales
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:06 am

Post by Weedy Gonzales »

hi!
thanks for your reply.

yes, apache is started, I added it to the default runlevel.
You will have to send the bug report to the address reported from ubuntus package
sorry, which adress? [/quote]
User avatar
cordel
Posts: 5210
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:47 pm
Location: /USA/Washington/Seattle

Post by cordel »

Not sure how Ubuntu does things, but in rpm we set our contact info so that it is available trough the package manager, I would assume that Ubuntu does some thing similar.
W.
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: Latvia

Post by W. »

cordel wrote:Not sure how Ubuntu does things, but in rpm we set our contact info so that it is available trough the package manager, I would assume that Ubuntu does some thing similar.
Weedy G. is having trouble with gentoo not ubuntu, hence http://bugs.gentoo.org
if common sense is so uncommon, why is it called common then?
Weedy Gonzales
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:06 am

Post by Weedy Gonzales »

wel, I think it doesn't matter anymore. spent a few more hours on it and finally screwed up apache and a few other programs and my desire to get it working in gentoo is finally gone.

Thought it over and decided to install ubuntu. Too many things screwed up in gentoo and getting bored of reinstalling it.

Thanks anyways.

grtz

Weedy G.
User avatar
cordel
Posts: 5210
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:47 pm
Location: /USA/Washington/Seattle

Post by cordel »

:oops: Don't know how I got stuck on Ubuntu some how. I very well know who is responsible for the Ubuntu package but no idea for gentoo. It processed correctly, just some thing between the chair and keyboard is off ;)
Locked