500 error on request-stream

Discussions related to the 1.36.x series of ZoneMinder
ryantm

500 error on request-stream

Post by ryantm »

Hi.

I'm new to ZoneMinder and I am using it on NixOS. I expect there are probably problems with NixOS's packaging of ZoneMinder, so I have been digging into the details to try to see why I'm getting 500 errors in my browser console while looking at a monitor.

I'm running ZoneMinder v1.36.8 and NixOS is using nginx in front of it.

The error I'm getting is when the monitor webpage requests a URL like

Code: Select all

https://redactedHost/index.php?view=request&request=stream&connkey=redactedConnkey&auth=redactedAuthHash&command=99
The result from the server is HTTP status code 500.

There are a lot of logs so I can't be sure I looked in the right place, but I don't see any website error messages related to this. I do see lots of log messages like

Oct 15 08:13:00 redactedHost zms_e53[1461]: INF [zms_e53] [Unable to send raw frame 81: Broken pipe]
and

10/15/21 08:37:07.240718 zms_e53[1461].INF-zm_eventstream.cpp/1087 [Unable to send raw frame 73: Broken pipe]
I looked at the ZoneMinder source code and ran this at my console:

REMOTE_ADDR=127.0.0.1 HTTP_REFERER=https://redactedHost QUERY_STRING="view=request&request=stream&connkey=redactedConnKey&auth=redactedAuthHash&x=37&y=587&command=8" sudo --preserve-env=HTTP_REFERER,QUERY_STRING,REMOTE_ADDR --preserve-en -u zoneminder /nix/store/p2r3inx7iskwqgnd0n39hmg4dmqi0nv8-zoneminder-1.36.8/libexec/zoneminder//cgi-bin/zms
which returned

Server: ZoneMinder Video Server/1.36.8
Last-Modified: Fri, 15 Oct 2021 15:16:18 GMT
Expires: Mon, 26 Jul 1997 05:00:00 GMT
Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate
Cache-Control: post-check=0, pre-check=0
Pragma: no-cache
10/15/21 08:16:18.220096 zms_e0[15064].ERR-zms.cpp/339 [Neither a monitor or event was specified.]