Upgrade 1.36.5 to 1.36.7 - Montage image quality degraded

Discussions related to the 1.36.x series of ZoneMinder
markuscis

Upgrade 1.36.5 to 1.36.7 - Montage image quality degraded

Post by markuscis »

Hi, As you can see I don't post very often but do want you all to know that Zoneminder is FANTASTIC. I'm a software developer and do recognize and appreciate all the work and creativity put into this product. I will certainly be donating!

UPDATED 9/16 at 10PM pst

At any rate I've run into an interesting issue and since this version was recently released 9/13 wondered if anyone has seen this. It may be something changed during my upgrade.

I'm running Ubuntu 20.04 LTS Focal, new install about a month ago, and had 1.36.5 running and working really nice. In montage view the quality was awesome(local HighBW) and never had any issues, stayed up all day long monitoring. I have 6 cameras but only display 3 Wide during the day.

I did an update and upgrade to the system which also upgraded to Zoneminder 1.36.7. After the upgrade the montage view by default displays Scale=Fixed Width/Height, Layout=3 Wide. The image quality is terrible/grainy. If I select Scale=Scale to Fit and Layout=3 Wide the display changes to "1 Wide"(3 cameras in a vertical column) even though "Layout=3 Wide" but the image quality is awesome. If I refresh it goes back to 3 Wide but Scale changes back to Fixed Width/Height with grainy image quality.
NOTE - Leaving the Montage view in scale to fit with 3 wide but viewing 1 wide the picture remains high quality.