Need help with nodect understanding

Discussions related to the 1.36.x series of ZoneMinder
lk777

Need help with nodect understanding

Post by lk777 »

Hi all,

I am new to ZM and the nodect confuses me a lot.

My scenario (2 streams from one camera): Lowres - modect,Hires - nodect. Hires is linked to Lowres

If I understand it correctly, all analysis and motion detection should be done on the Lowres stream (modect): Analysis Enabled, JPEGs, Video - disabled (my settings). So it just asks/triggers a Hires monitor to record an event.

If it is so, may I assume that the hires monitor (nodect) doesn't need to analyze anything just does a simple recording?

Following my logic, I have unchecked "Analysis Enabled" (though it says "...When not enabled no motion detection or linked monitor checking will be performed and no events will be created. ..") and JPEGS disabled (for the test purposes).
What I see is events are created on hires monitor with Alarm frames, Avg. Score, Max score, Frames. So it definitely analyses something.

Does Nodect need any zones to work?

Is this a result of some hidden foolproof algorithm?

What are correct settings for this scenario?
tsp84

Re: Need help with nodect understanding

Post by tsp84 »

Can I ask why you would have it setup that way? or is this just for testing and you are planning on mocord for the low res after? OR is this a processing limited platform?

modect on the hi res would work exactly the same as you have it setup now (minus any difference in buffer/alarm frame count).

To your question, are you asking if the hi res monitor is analyzing things even though you have turned analysis off? or?
lk777

Post by lk777 »

The analysis of the high resolution stream is quite CPU/Memory intensive process. If I understand it correctly, the purpose of the linked monitors (in this case, 1 camera - two streams) is to analyze the low resolution stream to make it computationally less intensive and to trigger the high resolution recording.