Best way to extract video for time range?

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.34.x releases only.
bigf

Best way to extract video for time range?

Post by bigf »

Hi all,
Currently on zoneminder v1.34.25 on debian 10 with 4 cameras
I've been running zoneminder for the past three years, and I've had an event actually happen last week. Unfortunately, I did not realize that zoneminder falsely claims the functionality to either scrub footage or download video, so I'm kind of stuck and frustrated.
  • Going to the date/time with "Montage Review" gives me a blank white screen on firefox and /sometimes/ gives me a 500 error on Chromium, so that won't work
  • Selecting any amount of clips in the "Event list" view and clicking "Download video" gives me a zip without any image or video data, I guess thats not a very useful feature then
  • "Exporting" clips from the event list works, but I want to know whether there is a real way of getting video before doing this by hand.
So, is there a dedicated part of the zoneminder micro-services model that produces these things that I can run locally on the database, or am I going to have to look through each frame by hand to figure out when it happened?

Thanks for your time

Mini-rant: Apology for the sarcasm, but this made me give up on zoneminder. I understand that this is a foss project written by awesome volunteers, but I no longer think this can be used in production as it is not worth the hassle. I BEG you to tell me I've configured it incorrectly so it works properly, otherwise I will probably not keep zoneminder for very long.
LBDG

Re: Best way to extract video for time range?

Post by LBDG »

Hy

I have a solution which works for me.

See link
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30216

Works with passthrough and 1.34 but had a previous version working with jpeg stills
bigf

Post by bigf »

Hi LBDG,
this looks like a great tool, but unfortunately it doesn't look like it will work from me.