Display one camera only.

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.34.x releases only.
Post Reply
LarryDana
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 12:06 am
Location: U.S.A.

Display one camera only.

Post by LarryDana » Fri Jul 17, 2020 3:14 am

Is it possible to set up a display to just show the full screen monitor of one of the cameras?

I have a setup with multiple cameras but would like a separate display (T.V. with web interface, cell phone etc.) to just be able to view the video source from one camera (the front door for example), just the video no "console", devices, logs, Montage etc.

something like "192.168.0.9/zm/dev/video7"

That way I can have a dedicated monitor that is showing the video feed from the front door without all the Console options cluttering up the view.
Thanks.

robf355gts
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 4:57 pm

Re: Display one camera only.

Post by robf355gts » Fri Jul 17, 2020 4:20 pm

Hi
have a look at the api documentation:
https://zoneminder.readthedocs.io/en/la ... ve-streams

I used the following
http://192.168.0.27/zm/cgi-bin/nph-zms? ... nkey=36139

insert your own ip address and change the <mid> to the monitor number on the console display, you can get the monitor number by hovering the mouse over the link in the console view.
e.g http://192.168.0.27/zm/?view=watch&mid=8
If you use a username and password to login you need the &auth=b5<deleted>03 key, the docs show you how to do that
Hope this helps
Regards
Rob

LarryDana
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 12:06 am
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Display one camera only.

Post by LarryDana » Fri Jul 17, 2020 9:01 pm

Thanks, that seemed to get me closer.

Any idea why the /dev/videoX changes after reboot? Video0 was the laptop webcam and Video7 was the plugged in webcam, it switched after a reboot to video0 being the plugged in USB, and video2 being the laptop webcam.

Also the screen still has excess clutter at the top, any way to eliminate that? (See attachment for what I mean.

Thank you for your assistance.
ZM-Capture-0.jpg
ZM-Capture-0.jpg (98.6 KiB) Viewed 205 times

burger
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 4:32 pm

Re: Display one camera only.

Post by burger » Fri Jul 17, 2020 11:50 pm

https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Example_Camera_View_HTML

You don't have to use keys, username and password is enough.

The /dev/video change may be related to udev, but search online, this is a common issue.
e.g.
https://github.com/obsproject/obs-studio/issues/3003
which recommends using one of the more verbose sysfs paths.

May be able to hardcode which one shows up as /dev/video1 or /dev/video0 in /etc/udev/rules.d/ is my guess.
fastest way to test streams:
ffmpeg -i rtsp://<ipaddress>:554/path output.mp4
from terminal, and run through paths on ispydb or in zm hcl

If you are new to cctv, read this:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Dummies_Guide

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests