No Video in ZM Console

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.34.x releases only.
robertdaleweir

No Video in ZM Console

Post by robertdaleweir »

I have a PI-4 with 4GB and a 250GB SSD running ZoneMinder. I have never used any software like this in the past, so I am a novice at setting it up. I used a PPA (ppa:iconnor/zoneminder-1.32) and managed to get it installed. I further upgraded to 1.34.1, successfully. I have managed to get it displaying within Firefox and it seems to present properly. I can see my cameras but I cannot get them to show video. I was able to use ONVIF, through a WIN7 machine, and view camera output (so the camera(s) are working. I attach a screenshot of the current state of things. I am not sure exactly what to do next.
My system is a PI 4 running a Ubuntu distro and ZM 1.34.1 . I have attached a text file which shows the Distro that I am using in detail.
Any help would be greatly appreciated...
Robert
Distro.txt
(336 Bytes) Downloaded 230 times
Attachments
2020-02-03-PI-4-ZM.png
2020-02-03-PI-4-ZM.png (194.92 KiB) Viewed 132822 times
snake

Re: No Video in ZM Console

Post by snake »

It sounds like you have everything working except the camera. See https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Finding_Camera_Stream_Paths

You could also post the logs, that may help. Don't put a Max FPS in ZM. Do ensure you get the Resolution correct. You can test it in VLC gui or ffmpeg first to get the resolution.

Since you mentioned you are using a PI, you might want to use the headless PI, as opposed to one with X. Also try lowering the FPS / Resolution on the cameras configuration page. See https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Single_Board_Computers

With the PI, start one camera at a time. Don't try to get both working at once. Start with low res, and scale up as long as performance is acceptable. Someone mentioned a gpu ram config adjustment in a boot file. See the wiki link above for more details. that may or may not help.
robertdaleweir

Post by robertdaleweir »