High CPU Load

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.32.x releases only.
detxm80
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:42 am

High CPU Load

Post by detxm80 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:03 pm

Hi, i've a problem with my zoneminder. After a while, my cpu go to 100% cause zoneminder. I don't know how, initially all gone ok and after (1/2 month) cpu go to overload. Change max fps or other option cause no solution.
I've Ubuntu 18.04.
Can you help me to resolve this issue ?
Attachments
Schermata a 2019-03-06 22-06-13.png
Schermata a 2019-03-06 22-06-13.png (4.33 KiB) Viewed 2387 times
Schermata a 2019-03-06 22-02-05.png
Schermata a 2019-03-06 22-02-05.png (339.59 KiB) Viewed 2390 times
Schermata a 2019-03-06 22-01-45.png
Schermata a 2019-03-06 22-01-45.png (256.64 KiB) Viewed 2390 times

rockedge
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: High CPU Load

Post by rockedge » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:52 pm

hello... so it runs for 10-15 days and then the CPU load goes to 100% ?

detxm80
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:42 am

Re: High CPU Load

Post by detxm80 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:55 pm

Exactly

rockedge
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: High CPU Load

Post by rockedge » Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:12 am

a while ago during the 1.31.+ development there was a bug that caused some processes like zma not to end and new ones would start so they would accumulate and exhaust the memory crashing zoneminder eventually. Though that was fixed long ago. You are running Ubuntu 18.04 32 bit OS?

It is interesting to see on your htop that many instances of zma for each monitor are running. Is there anything unusual in set the Options?

detxm80
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:42 am

Re: High CPU Load

Post by detxm80 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:55 am

Hi rockedge, i’ve 64 bit ubuntu server.
Not unusual option i have set or i have change.

AnotherBrian
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:36 am

Re: High CPU Load

Post by AnotherBrian » Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:24 pm

Just adding a bit here. A few days ago I did a full clean install of Ubuntu 18.04 with Zoneminder 1.32. Mine went 100% cpus after adding just a few cameras. I set mocord to record thinking maybe analysis of frames was driving up the cpu. My 8 cameras pump out at 5 frames a second or less. Under prior releases my cpu loads are around 40%. Is there any chance occonor stuff got updated?

rockedge
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: High CPU Load

Post by rockedge » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:05 pm

"Is there any chance occonor stuff got updated?"

yes it is continually improving. really the only production release is v 1.30.4 and 1.32 was development but kind of graduated to a sort of release....give 1.33.3 a try from the master snapshot at the iconner PPA

detxm80
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:42 am

Re: High CPU Load

Post by detxm80 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 7:11 am

How can i update it to 1.33?

rockedge
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: High CPU Load

Post by rockedge » Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:24 pm

switch your repo for your package manager to the iconner PPA ..something like

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:iconnor/zoneminder-master
sudo apt-get update

detxm80
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:42 am

Re: High CPU Load

Post by detxm80 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:26 pm

Just do it, now i can t access , myip/zm give me white page

rockedge
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: High CPU Load

Post by rockedge » Sat Mar 09, 2019 8:54 pm

you might need to open a terminal and run

Code: Select all

zmupdate.pl

detxm80
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:42 am

Re: High CPU Load

Post by detxm80 » Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:09 am

Database already at version 1.33.3, update skipped.

After run zmupdate.pl :(

And anyway cpu is 100% the same

detxm80
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:42 am

Re: High CPU Load

Post by detxm80 » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:14 am

@iconnor can you help me to resolve cpu overload issue?

rockedge
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: High CPU Load

Post by rockedge » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:23 pm

did you try

Code: Select all

zmupdate.pl -f
do you still have a blank page calling the ZM console?

rockedge
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: High CPU Load

Post by rockedge » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:24 pm

shutdown all the cameras and turn just one on to "Monitor" and observe the CPU loads...add a another camera...how does it look?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests