Just upgraded from ZM 1.30.x to 1.32.x, nothing works

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.32.x releases only.
Post Reply
tedukes
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:53 am

Just upgraded from ZM 1.30.x to 1.32.x, nothing works

Post by tedukes » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:53 am

followed the instructions here: https://zoneminder.readthedocs.io/en/st ... rpm-fusion

to upgrade ZM. Installation and upgrade successful but nothing works! Click on a button, nothing happens. Click on a DVR functions, nothing happens. I can view events but I cannot FF, delete, etc.

What a mess!!

User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2209
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: Just upgraded from ZM 1.30.x to 1.32.x, nothing works

Post by knight-of-ni » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:03 pm

Failure to complete upgrade step 3 of the README correctly will result in a mess:
https://github.com/ZoneMinder/zoneminde ... httpd#L139

The documentation you referenced presents multiple ways to install or upgrade zoneminder. Which path did you choose?? Did you build your own package or something else?

Exactly what version of ZoneMinder did you upgrade to? Be specific. 1.32.what? It matters.

What distro are you running?
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/

tedukes
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:53 am

Re: Just upgraded from ZM 1.30.x to 1.32.x, nothing works

Post by tedukes » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:07 pm

Thanks!!

The file. zoneminder.httpd.conf appears to be corrupt. I see nothing but garbage when I open it with a text editor. A file zoneminder.httpd.conf.rpmnew does not exist.

The version I upgraded to is 1.32.3. It was installed with rpmfusion via yum update.

There is something broken on the pages. I'm seeing stuff like account_circle admin, network_check.

knight-of-ni wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:03 pm
Failure to complete upgrade step 3 of the README correctly will result in a mess:
https://github.com/ZoneMinder/zoneminde ... httpd#L139

The documentation you referenced presents multiple ways to install or upgrade zoneminder. Which path did you choose?? Did you build your own package or something else?

Exactly what version of ZoneMinder did you upgrade to? Be specific. 1.32.what? It matters.

What distro are you running?

User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2209
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: Just upgraded from ZM 1.30.x to 1.32.x, nothing works

Post by knight-of-ni » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:16 pm

There is something broken on the pages. I'm seeing stuff like account_circle admin, network_check.
That means the new apache config is not loaded, which is exactly what upgrade step 3 addresses.
You need to symlink the config file into place.

If the contents of the config file are corrupted, try reinstalling the package.

If that does not work, you can manually download the rpmfile from rpmfusion:
https://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/el ... httpd.html

An rpm file is just a tarball. You can extract the contents like any other tarball. Extract the contents to a temporary folder then manually copy the file zoneminder.httpd.conf from the temporary folder to /etc/zm/www/. Don't forget to symlink it to /etc/httpd/conf.d
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/

tedukes
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:53 am

Re: Just upgraded from ZM 1.30.x to 1.32.x, nothing works

Post by tedukes » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:32 pm

Thanks,

I downloaded the zoneminder-http package and extracted the zoneminder.httpd.conf file, crated the symlink and restarted httpd and zm.

Everything seems to work now!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests