Can zoneminder do this ?

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.32.x releases only.
Post Reply
DaveG
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:13 am

Can zoneminder do this ?

Post by DaveG » Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:16 pm

I have 7 networked webcamera's which are from 3 different manufacturers but are all ONVIF compliant.

I am happy to use the camera's own inbuilt motion recording facility as they all let footage to be sent to either a network share or ftp server.

At this point there is nothing for zoneminder to do.

I would prefer to have only one port forward rule setup on my firewall to enable access to zoneminder,

I would like to use a single IOS / Android client such as zmNinja to connect to zoneminder, i.e. not one client app for each model of camera.

Now the key question.

Can zoneminder be setup so that it's effectively just a pass through proxy allowing zmNinja to get data from the chosen camera. I don't need zoneMinder to do any motion detection or recording, just grab data from the selected camera and pass onto the connected client.

If this were possible I am hoping to be able to lower the spec of the machine running zoneMinder to the absolute minimum.

Thanks for any ideas in advance.

Dave

rockedge
Posts: 1080
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: Can zoneminder do this ?

Post by rockedge » Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:19 pm

yes you can do this I think. I have some installs of ZM that do nothing but let zmNinja stream from it...and I do it on some machines that are 12+ years old.

sagitt
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:13 pm

Re: Can zoneminder do this ?

Post by sagitt » Sun Sep 23, 2018 8:10 pm

DaveG wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:16 pm
I have 7 networked webcamera's which are from 3 different manufacturers but are all ONVIF compliant.

I am happy to use the camera's own inbuilt motion recording facility as they all let footage to be sent to either a network share or ftp server.

At this point there is nothing for zoneminder to do.

I would prefer to have only one port forward rule setup on my firewall to enable access to zoneminder,

I would like to use a single IOS / Android client such as zmNinja to connect to zoneminder, i.e. not one client app for each model of camera.

Now the key question.

Can zoneminder be setup so that it's effectively just a pass through proxy allowing zmNinja to get data from the chosen camera. I don't need zoneMinder to do any motion detection or recording, just grab data from the selected camera and pass onto the connected client.

If this were possible I am hoping to be able to lower the spec of the machine running zoneMinder to the absolute minimum.

Thanks for any ideas in advance.

Dave
Yes

bbunge
Posts: 2385
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:40 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Can zoneminder do this ?

Post by bbunge » Sun Sep 23, 2018 8:27 pm

Yes again.
But I would recommend Zoneminder 1.30.4 to start.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests