Reolink Argus 2 to ZoneMinder Configuration

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.31.x releases only.
Post Reply
wiinc1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:05 pm

Reolink Argus 2 to ZoneMinder Configuration

Post by wiinc1 » Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:08 pm

I am trying to connect my Reolink Argus 2 cameras to ZoneMinder. I have been using information that I have pieced together from other posts on Reddit, Reolink's docs, and ZoneMinder docs, but this has been unsuccessful thus far as most of the information online indicates how to configure some of Reolink's other cameras not the Argus model.

I'm hoping others can suggestion other options to try to piece together a configuration that will work.
I have attempted the following configuration:
On the ZM Add New Monitor configuration:
General Tab:
- Name = Kitchen
- Server = None (no options provided in the drop drown)
- Source Type = Remote
- Function = Monitor
- Enabled = Checked[/list]
Source Tab:
I mostly used information found in this Reolink 411 post: https://www.reddit.com/r/ZoneMinder/com ... oneminder/
- Remote Protocol = RTSP
- Remote Method = RTP/RTSP
- Remote Host = admin:password@IPAddress
- Remote Host Port = 8000 based on https://reolink.com/faq/add-reolink-cam ... blue-iris/. I have also tried 554.
- Remote Host Path = /h264Previoew_01_main
All other settings were default.

After inputting this information, the log file indicates "Unable to connect to RTSP socket.

Any ideas where I went wrong?
Thanks in advance for any help!

wiinc1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:05 pm

Re: Reolink Argus 2 to ZoneMinder Configuration

Post by wiinc1 » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:32 pm

Has anyone every been successful in integrating the Reolink Argus 2 into ZoneMinder before?

User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: Reolink Argus 2 to ZoneMinder Configuration

Post by knight-of-ni » Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:07 pm

Googling leads one to this thread where users have reported success:
https://reolink.com/topic/zoneminder-wi ... nk-camera/

Notice that the examples in that thread are using a source type of ffmpeg, not Remote.
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/

User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2142
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: Reolink Argus 2 to ZoneMinder Configuration

Post by knight-of-ni » Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:14 pm

It seems some manufacturer beat me to punch again.

I wanted to build a critter cam that was mobile and could operate 24/7 on solar power in my back yard.
I've got all the pieces on my desk: rasp pi zero w, day/night pi cam, waterproof case, solar (cell phone) charger.
I made some progress but this project lost out to everything else I'm working on.

So it looks like the Argus 2 is exactly what I just described. Maybe I'll just buy one.
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/

wiinc1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:05 pm

Re: Reolink Argus 2 to ZoneMinder Configuration

Post by wiinc1 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:38 am

Thanks for that link! It was definitely helpful while solving the problem it has brought up a new one :)

At least now, I am able to see ZM connecting to the camera it doesn't show the feed from the camera (and the log file is in a green state wheras it was in a red previously).

My setup for others that has gotten me this far is:

General Tab:
  • Server = None
    Source Type = Ffmpeg
    Function = Monitor
    Enabled = checked box
Source Tab:
  • Source Path = rtsp://username:password@CameraIPaddress/h264Preview_01_main
    Remote Method = RTP/RTSP

snake
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 2:20 am

Re: Reolink Argus 2 to ZoneMinder Configuration

Post by snake » Wed Sep 26, 2018 12:20 pm

Those paths are for the RLC-410. There is another path worth trying here: ispyconnect.com/man.aspx?n=Reolink But, on second thought, I see that there is this page which says that this path works for all cameras except battery powered devices like the Argus: https://support.reolink.com/hc/en-us/ar ... as-to-iSpy

Blue iris folk have emailed them, this camera won't work because "proprietary" and because they are battery powered with a small? panel, so you'd need more power to run it on wifi 24/7, see: http://www.blueirissoftware.com/forum/v ... php?t=1127

I'd be interested in one of these as well but without ONVIF...

You can try lowering the resolution. Try it in SD.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest