Is it possible to blank a part?

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.30.x releases only.
Post Reply
markush
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 7:24 am

Is it possible to blank a part?

Post by markush » Sun May 27, 2018 7:38 am

I'm using 1.30.4 for testing its features. It works very good and the installation under Ubuntu Server 16.04 was practicable :D

Now I'm searching for the possibility to blank a part of the recorded area. But I don't find a setting to do that! I want to blank a area which is a public street and runs through my land. Can anybody help me?

Thanks!

bbunge
Posts: 2509
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:40 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Is it possible to blank a part?

Post by bbunge » Sun May 27, 2018 11:51 am

Not sure what you mean by blank. If you want to exclude motion in the street from triggering an event you can set up zones to ignore motion in the street.

markush
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 7:24 am

Re: Is it possible to blank a part?

Post by markush » Sun May 27, 2018 1:06 pm

I know the zones - thanks! I want to mark an area and this area should not be recorded (respectively filled with color eg black). You know what i mean?
Think its not possible checked all the available documentation :? .

mikb
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:34 pm

Re: Is it possible to blank a part?

Post by mikb » Sun May 27, 2018 8:02 pm

I don't think such a facility exists in ZM -- you could write and add one, or possibly do something clever with FFMPEG

Check out using FFMPEG video filters, option -vf and possibly the section in the manual on "overlay", and overlay your "black shape" from a .PNG file onto the video stream when you create videos from the events.

To create the black shape .png, export a single frame of the camera view, and load it into an image editor -- draw over the areas you want lost with black, and change everything else to transparent, save it as a .PNG.

Maybe that would suffice? It would be recorded but not exported?

User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2241
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: Is it possible to blank a part?

Post by knight-of-ni » Mon May 28, 2018 4:57 am

A couple years ago someone contributed privacy zones as a zone type. I've not used it myself but that sounds like what you are asking for.
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/

rockedge
Posts: 1117
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to blank a part?

Post by rockedge » Tue May 29, 2018 4:27 am

yes the privacy zone is exactly what you are looking for... I have tested it and the privacy zone works well.

you will find it in the zones setup and configuration.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests