Strange MJPEG frame rate behaviour

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.29.x releases only.
krasnal

Strange MJPEG frame rate behaviour

Post by krasnal »

I'm new to Zoneminder and have recently (and successfully) installed v1.29.0 on a Debian 8 server build, running on a 4-(real)-core machine with 6GB of memory. The LAN is gigabit and, for now, the only camera is a 2.0 Mpixel dome camera from a company called BCS, model number BCS-DMIP3200IR-E, which is capable of up to 25 fps x 1920x1080 in either MJPEG or H264.

I'm still exploring and fine tuning things but have hit what seems to be some odd behaviour when using the main MJPEG stream. (I've found no issues with H264, so far, so this issue is specific to MJPEG.)

The instructions I have for the camera state that the H264 stream should be accessed via RTSP (and works as expected) and the MJPEG stream should be accessed via the HTTP URL http://<ip address>/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi. (Yep, there's no user/password required!)

The issue is this: I'd like to use the secondary stream for motion detection and online viewing, and the main stream to record at 5fps MJPEG 1920x1080 only when an alarm is triggered. However, when I set the frame rate on the main stream to 5 fps MJPEG, Zoneminder only gives me 2.5 fps, as indicated in the log, as shown in the browser and as written to disk. That is to say, it looks like it realy is only 2.5fps. Using top, cpu for the relevant zmc process is hovering around 20% and memory use is around 8%. Overall shm use is only 11-12% and overall machine load, including the use of a lo-res secondary stream currently set at only 2fps, averages around 0.22.

If I increase the frame rate on the camera, to 12 fps, the cpu of the zmc process jumps to about 50%, which is a pro-rata increase from the 5fps cpu usage, memory remains at 8%, and Zoneminder now gives around 9.5-10 fps.