zmNinja for desktops

Discussion topics related to mobile applications for ZoneMinder
Post Reply
asker
Posts: 813
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

zmNinja for desktops

Post by asker » Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:46 pm

Hey folks,
zmNinja (the cool mobile app for ZoneMinder) developed by my evil alter-ago (Dr. Pliable Pixels) has now broken free of mobile devices.
It is now available on Desktops as well - windows (win 7 or above), linux as well as mac!
For linux, it only supports regular desktop distributions which have a UI - CentOS/Fedora/Ubuntu/similar

If you have APIs installed (ZM 1.28.108+) do give it a spin. Let me know how you like it.
Grab it HERE

It also works with my Event Server for real time notifications.

Latest Version: 0.87.3D

NOTE: - Always read CHANGELOG.md. If it contains a section called "Important Notes" - you need to make sure read that as they may talk about specific patches to ZM or changed behavior to the app. Not reading them may result in zmNinja not working properly.

NOTE: If everything works except for quick scrub and event footage, please replace image.php with this file https://raw.githubusercontent.com/abish ... /image.php
--> its in web/views folder

(Thanks to abishai for the patch)
Last edited by asker on Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:35 am, edited 7 times in total.
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

rockedge
Posts: 517
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by rockedge » Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:06 pm

Hello! I would really like to test your app, especially the desktop version. Eventually also the mobile version. I think this app will really be a winner among my clients! I can't seem to get the binaries to work in either Windows or Linux. But I must mention I tried it with Windows XP and on Puppy Linux Tahr 6.0.3. What OS do you recommend I test with?

asker
Posts: 813
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by asker » Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:39 pm

Rockedge, I've edited the post above:

Windows: Only windows 7 and above. XP is not supported
Linux: Needs to be a distribution with a full UI stack - like Ubuntu Desktop, Fedora, CentOS etc --> seems like Puppy linux is a very optimized distribution and may not contain all the features needed by a standard desktop UI app.
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

rockedge
Posts: 517
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by rockedge » Thu Nov 12, 2015 3:52 pm

Hello Thanks for the reply! I tried zmNinja on a machine running Windows 7 and then on another with Windows 10 and could not get it to run. Error returned says the OS is not compatible.
What am I over-looking or what am I missing in my UI stacks? I really would love to test this out.

Also do you know why I am getting a fatal error using the ZoneMinder API in a brand new install of 1.28.108? API works great on my 1.28.1 but starting with version 1.28.107 I began to get this

Code: Select all

Error: Trait 'CrudControllerTrait' not found
File: /opt/lampp/htdocs/zm/api/app/Controller/AppController.php
Line: 34
any insight on what may be happening?

asker
Posts: 813
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by asker » Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:22 pm

Hi, where does the "OS not compatible" error come up? I am running it on a w7 machine right now and so are others who are testing it. So I can't really provide more input till you post more details. Which ZIP file did you download and are you running it on a desktop running W7 ? (not a tablet of some kind)

With respect to APIs there are detailed guides written out - knnniggett responded to your other post - please follow those instructions and let us know in that thread where you get stuck.
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

rockedge
Posts: 517
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA
Contact:

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by rockedge » Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:29 pm

I am using a Dell Inspiron E1705 laptop running Windows 7 updated to the latest greatest. Or a Dell Inspiron E1505 with Windows 10 also updated to most recent stand.

I downloaded from here: https://github.com/pliablepixels/zmNinj ... -platforms
It must be something I am missing.

I got the API to work well after re-reading the docs from the link from knnniggett. I missed a step while building 1.28.108 my error. So now I have a fully functional ZoneMinder 1.28.108!

asker
Posts: 813
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by asker » Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:46 pm

Are you sure you downloaded the right file? zmNinja-win.zip and that you downloaded the ZIP file, not the folder? You should have seen a screen like this -- and then downloaded the ZIP.

After downloading, unzip, and double click on zmninja.exe ?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 10.44.50 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 10.44.50 AM.png (28.62 KiB) Viewed 6042 times
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

BiloxiGeek
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by BiloxiGeek » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:15 pm

Just giving the desktop version a quick test drive. Got the API working, got the Linux desktop connected and all seems well. But I only see big red question marks for my monitors. I have 10 GrandStream cams, each puts out a low-def feed and a high-def feed. So a total of 20 monitors. Ideally I'd like to have zmNinja show me the low-def streams in the montage view. They are all in group=1 so I can get to them via the web interface.

asker
Posts: 813
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by asker » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:32 pm

This means one of two things:

a) you haven't set up the cgi-path correctly in zmNinja
b) You don't have PHP-gd installed

Most likely a.

What CGI-PATH have you put?
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

BiloxiGeek
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by BiloxiGeek » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:34 pm

php-gd is installed.

Path is set to https://<my home IP>:<NAT port>/zm/api

BiloxiGeek
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by BiloxiGeek » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:41 pm

Also noticed that I don't see the current FPS for each monitor, is that supposed to show up on the Monitors page?
Attachments
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (21.23 KiB) Viewed 6033 times

asker
Posts: 813
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by asker » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:42 pm

cgi path, not api path.
What did you enter in "base path to cgi" ?

In my case it is server.com/
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

asker
Posts: 813
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by asker » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:43 pm

This maxFPS value is what you might have set inside ZoneMinder. It does not reflect the fps you set in camera. If you've kept this empty in ZM, it will show as 0
BiloxiGeek wrote:Also noticed that I don't see the current FPS for each monitor, is that supposed to show up on the Monitors page?
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

BiloxiGeek
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by BiloxiGeek » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:46 pm

asker wrote:cgi path, not api path.
What did you enter in "base path to cgi" ?

In my case it is server.com/

Code: Select all

https://<my home IP>:<NAT port>
I put in a trailing slash but it doesn't want to save it so I end up with just the IP and NAT port

asker
Posts: 813
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: zmNinja for desktops

Post by asker » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:54 pm

Can you enable debug logs and then restart the app - go to Logs, you will see a line somewhere like this

Code: Select all

Nov 11, 2015 1:44:46 PM INFO PATH_ZMS:/cgi-bin/nph-zms ,Path ZmNinja will use:https://server/com/cgi-bin/nph-zms
Please tell me exactly what you see there

Edit: Debug not required for this - its an INFO level log - but good idea to enabled Debug anyway
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest