ZMNinja-Red question marks

Discussion topics related to mobile applications for ZoneMinder
kkrofft
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:55 pm

ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by kkrofft » Wed Jun 29, 2016 6:42 pm

Working with desktop version prior to purchase of mobile apps.

Everything else appears to work correctly but I can't see monitor output or review events. Just get the dreaded red question marks.
cgi-bin path is https://<server>/zm/cgi-bin/zm/nph-zms which matches Zoneminder's. Log file attached.
zmNinja-logs.zip
(1.53 KiB) Downloaded 64 times
Can anyone provide a list of prerequisites needed for the streams to work?
We know about the cgi-bin path but what other packages/versions are needed?
What config edits are required?
What files need specific permissions?
Thanks,
KK

asker
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by asker » Wed Jun 29, 2016 8:18 pm

kkrofft wrote:Working with desktop version prior to purchase of mobile apps.

Everything else appears to work correctly but I can't see monitor output or review events. Just get the dreaded red question marks.
cgi-bin path is https://<server>/zm/cgi-bin/zm/nph-zms which matches Zoneminder's. Log file attached.
zmNinja-logs.zip
Can anyone provide a list of prerequisites needed for the streams to work?
We know about the cgi-bin path but what other packages/versions are needed?
What config edits are required?
What files need specific permissions?
Thanks,
KK
It needs to be https://<server>/zm/cgi-bin/zm/ (did you try to use the wizard?).

Pre-requisites:
The user you are trying to configure must have view permissions to monitor streams to view the montage.
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

kkrofft
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:55 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by kkrofft » Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:27 am

With or without the nph-zm the result is the same. I am using basic auth with users defined in apache. Current testing is within my home network
where it is configured as no auth required. So any family member can access Zoneminder console from any machine in the house. We can all do that without issue.

asker
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by asker » Thu Jun 30, 2016 12:19 pm

kkrofft wrote:With or without the nph-zm the result is the same. I am using basic auth with users defined in apache. Current testing is within my home network
where it is configured as no auth required. So any family member can access Zoneminder console from any machine in the house. We can all do that without issue.
https://github.com/pliablepixels/zmNinja/wiki/FAQ

There are a few reasons why ? marks show up:

a) Your cgi-bin path is incorrect in zmNinja
b) You are missing some libraries in ZM for image scaling (ZM doesn't always use it, but zmNinja does to save bandwidth)

IF you are absolutely sure your path is right (and which is why I recommend you use the wizard, not manual entry), then while zmNinja is showing the montage, check your apache error logs to see if its throwing errors.
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

kkrofft
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:55 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by kkrofft » Thu Jun 30, 2016 4:11 pm

Asker -

I used the wizard on initial setup. Only manually modified after it did not work.

The ssl error log shows "File does not exist: /usr/share/zoneminder/www/cgi-bin

The zoneminder.conf file has:

Alias /zm "/usr/share/zoneminder/www"
<Directory "/usr/share/zoneminder/www">
SSLRequireSSL
Options -Indexes MultiViews FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride All
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
# The code unfortunately uses short tags in many places
php_value short_open_tag 1

</Directory>

ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/zm "/usr/libexec/zoneminder/cgi-bin"
<Directory "/usr/libexec/zoneminder/cgi-bin">
SSLRequireSSL
AllowOverride All
Options ExecCGI FollowSymLinks
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>

<Directory "/usr/share/zoneminder/www/api">
#SSLRequireSSL
AllowOverride All
</Directory>

This looks OK to me but I may not quite have the syntax down.

asker
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by asker » Thu Jun 30, 2016 4:32 pm

The ssl error log shows "File does not exist: /usr/share/zoneminder/www/cgi-bin
I'm confused. Are you saying you are able to view everything correctly in web console but can't in zmninja with this error?
Its easiest if you can give me temporary access to a limited account with maybe one camera so I can tell you exactly what to set in zmNinja. Hard to guess
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

kkrofft
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:55 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by kkrofft » Thu Jun 30, 2016 5:14 pm

The ssl error log shows "File does not exist: /usr/share/zoneminder/www/cgi-bin
I'm confused. Are you saying you are able to view everything correctly in web console but can't in zmninja with this error?
Its easiest if you can give me temporary access to a limited account with maybe one camera so I can tell you exactly what to set in zmNinja. Hard to guess. With the error above, your ZM Web console should also not be working when it comes to showing events and live view
Yes. I can access all normal ZM Console features in web browsers. Inside the home network and via DDNS.
I'll see what I can do to give you access and PM you the details.

asker
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by asker » Thu Jun 30, 2016 5:38 pm

sounds good - please email to pliablepixels@gmail
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

asker
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by asker » Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:52 pm

problem resolved, I hope - it was a cgi-bin path setting issue
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

kkrofft
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:55 pm

(Resolved) - Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by kkrofft » Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:52 am

Thanks asker!

In my case we found that the proper cgi-bin path was https://<server>/cgi-bin/zm.

.wm.
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by .wm. » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:03 pm

Unfortunately I have the same problem (on v1.30.0).
One might think it should be easy to solve because it worked beautifully already, but no.
I converted my zoneminder to two servers setup, and zmNinja showed me red question marks immediately.
Of course it did it at the end, when finally I got it right. Earlier when the two server zoneminder worked only partially and there were problems, zmNinja had none.

I have two servers:

seen from outside as
zm1.domain:66/zm
zm2.domain:67/zm

inside
zm1.private_domain:66/zm
zm2.private_domain:67/zm

in /etc/zm/zm.conf there are ZM_SERVER_HOST=zm1 and ZM_SERVER_HOST=zm2 respectively, both convert to proper (private) IPs.

And everything works: timeline, events - except montage.Montage doesn't work even inside, using the private addresses. Desktop version or mobile apps - no difference.

The paths are correct, I even tried /cgi-bin/zm, zmNinja said it was wrong.

Thanks for any tips...

asker
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by asker » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:11 pm

It's hard to help without logs, but lets make sure I understand what your issue is
One might think it should be easy to solve because it worked beautifully already, but no.
I converted my zoneminder to two servers setup, and zmNinja showed me red question marks immediately.
So zmNinja worked before, but after you converted to your 2 server setup it doesn't?
And everything works: timeline, events - except montage.Montage doesn't work even inside, using the private addresses. Desktop version or mobile apps - no difference.
1. So images show up correctly in zmNinja for timeline and events ?
2. How about event montage?
3. How above live monitor streaming?
4. Does Montage work in ZoneMinder console ? (not zmNinja)

Finally,
look at your apache error and access logs when you are in zmNinja montage - what do you see?
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

.wm.
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by .wm. » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:35 pm

Thanks for the fast response :)

Yes, the conversion did it.

timeline works, with pictures, with videos.
event montage works perfectly, showing videos and timelines.
montage, live streaming: red marks.
zoneminder (in Chromium) works perfectly, including montage and live streaming.

in logs many:

ERR [socket_sendto( /var/run/zm/zms-555592s.sock ) failed: No such file or directory]
WAR [file:// is not found in servers list.]

it seems only zmNinja generates them, ZoneMinder doesn't.
event.jpg
event.jpg (103.93 KiB) Viewed 2394 times

asker
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by asker » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:52 pm

can you come onto the Zoneminder IRC forum - will be easier to debug and chat in real time
irc.freenode.net #zoneminder

my handle is asker
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

.wm.
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: ZMNinja-Red question marks

Post by .wm. » Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:39 pm

Thanks, I will do that :) .
Unfortunately yesterday I was distracted by some boring nonsense.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest