Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Discussion topics related to mobile applications for ZoneMinder
Post Reply
kenworth
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:04 pm

Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by kenworth » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:33 pm

Hello, I have been an active user of zoneminder and zmninja for years and both have worked very well for me. I recently upgraded my server to Fedora 26 and now zmninja seems to authenticate fine (I'm using basic authentication), but all monitors just display a red question mark. While looking in the ssl_access log on the server, it seems that api requests from zmninja are being denied with a 401 return code. I have pasted log entries below. Browser access to zoneminder works perfectly using the same credentials. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:25:33 -0400] "POST /zm/index.php HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:25:33 -0400] "POST /zm/index.php HTTP/1.1" 200 1071
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "POST /zm/index.php HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "POST /zm/index.php HTTP/1.1" 200 40809
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "GET /zm/api/host/getVersion.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "GET /zm/api/host/getVersion.json HTTP/1.1" 200 40
192.168.1.179 - - - - 192.168.1.179 - - [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "GET /zm/api/configs/viewByName/ZM_PATH_ZMS.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.179 - - - - 192.168.1.179 - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "GET /zm/api/configs/viewByName/ZM_PATH_ZMS.json HTTP/1.1" 200 44
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors.json HTTP/1.1" 200 9475
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "GET /cgi-bin/nph-zms?mode=single&monitor=1 HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:25:34 -0400] "GET /cgi-bin/nph-zms?mode=single&monitor=1 HTTP/1.1" 404 213
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:25:35 -0400] "GET /cgi-bin-zm/nph-zms?mode=single&monitor=1 HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:25:35 -0400] "GET /cgi-bin-zm/nph-zms?mode=single&monitor=1 HTTP/1.1" 200 -
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "POST /zm/index.php HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "POST /zm/index.php HTTP/1.1" 200 1071
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "GET /zm/api/host/getVersion.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "GET /zm/api/host/getVersion.json HTTP/1.1" 200 40
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "GET /zm/api/host/getTimeZone.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "GET /zm/api/configs/viewByName/ZM_PATH_ZMS.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "GET /zm/api/host/getTimeZone.json HTTP/1.1" 200 27
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "GET /zm/api/configs/viewByName/ZM_PATH_ZMS.json HTTP/1.1" 200 44
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "GET /cgi-bin-zm/zms HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:10 -0400] "GET /cgi-bin-zm/zms HTTP/1.1" 500 540
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:11 -0400] "GET /zm/api/host/getVersion.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:11 -0400] "GET /zm/api/host/getVersion.json HTTP/1.1" 200 40
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:11 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:11 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors.json HTTP/1.1" 200 9475
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:11 -0400] "GET /zm/api/servers.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:11 -0400] "GET /zm/api/servers.json HTTP/1.1" 200 14
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:48 -0400] "GET /zm/index.php?view=watch&mid=1&connkey=415920 HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:48 -0400] "GET /zm/index.php?view=watch&mid=1&connkey=415920 HTTP/1.1" 200 8830
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:53 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:1/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:53 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:6/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:53 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:1/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 200 14
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:53 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:6/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 200 14
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:58 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:6/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:26:58 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:1/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:58 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:1/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 200 14
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:26:58 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:6/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 200 14
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:27:03 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:1/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - - [04/Sep/2017:10:27:03 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:6/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 401 381
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:27:03 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:1/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 200 14
192.168.1.1 - - - - router - a057754 [04/Sep/2017:10:27:03 -0400] "GET /zm/api/monitors/alarm/id:6/command:status.json HTTP/1.1" 200 14

Baylink
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:19 am

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by Baylink » Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:14 pm

Could this be a certificate issue?

Can you get to an https version of the control panel *from the mobile*; does it ask you to approve a new cert?

kenworth
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:04 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by kenworth » Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:04 pm

I am able to bring up the web console from the phone using Chrome with no issues and with a secure connection (I have Apache configured to force https, so there is no option for non-secure).

Thanks

asker
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by asker » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:11 pm

This may be a Chrome issue if you are on Android. Which version of Chrome?
See the first entry in https://github.com/pliablepixels/zmNinja/wiki/FAQ
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

kenworth
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:04 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by kenworth » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:29 pm

Chrome version is v60.0.3112.107, so quite possibly the cause of the issue. I'll have to look at some of the workarounds...I can't turn off authentication.

Thanks

kenworth
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:04 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by kenworth » Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:41 pm

After looking into the Chrome issues a bit deeper, particularly issue 504300, it seems this is not so much of a bug but rather an intended feature. Reading through the discussion leads me to believe they do not intend to back this out. The main reason the give for it is that IE has had embedded credentials URL's disabled for years. In the wiki an interim version of zmninja that uses crosswalk was mentioned. I'm wondering if this needs to become the new, stable version unless someone knows for certain that Google will back out this change. Thoughts?

Thanks

asker
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by asker » Tue Sep 05, 2017 7:32 pm

My initial understanding was Chrome would fix this, but now that 60 is out and they haven't - who knows - this may be their 'new normal'.
I'll watch this closely. I can send you the crosswalk build in the mean time if you want (please shoot me an email - pliablepixels/gmail) but you can also disable basic auth an enable ZM auth, if that is an option?
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

kenworth
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:04 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by kenworth » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:34 pm

Just to close this one out, Asker provided me with the crosswalk build which resolved the issue. Thanks very much for that!

kenworth
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:04 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by kenworth » Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:49 pm

Hi Asker.....the crosswalk build you provided was working great until my device updated to android 7.1.1. I tried your standard release again just to see, but still have issues with basic authentication when attempting live view on the monitors. Do you have an updated crosswalk build you can provide that works with 7.1.1?

Thanks!

asker
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by asker » Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:24 pm

done
kenworth wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:49 pm
Hi Asker.....the crosswalk build you provided was working great until my device updated to android 7.1.1. I tried your standard release again just to see, but still have issues with basic authentication when attempting live view on the monitors. Do you have an updated crosswalk build you can provide that works with 7.1.1?

Thanks!
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

kenworth
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:04 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by kenworth » Sun Feb 18, 2018 1:58 pm

Sorry....did you send it to me, or is it downloadable somewhere?

asker
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by asker » Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:40 pm

I emailed it to Ken Ayotte - is that you? It was send 2-3 days ago
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

kenworth
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:04 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by kenworth » Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:16 pm

Yes, that's me. For some reason it never came through. I have checked spam quarantine and junk mail...nothing there either.

Also, the current stable version is behaving differently now. Instead of red question marks, live view is just a black image with a tiny broken icon in the upper left corner. Montage view is black images with 3 green dots in the center, and it appears to keep trying to refresh. I'm still seeing 401 codes in the apache logs though, so still seems to be Chrome blocking basic auth.

Thanks!

asker
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: Red question mark on monitors after upgrade

Post by asker » Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:30 pm

Sent again right now.
Yes, the "new" Red X is the green dots...
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest