Page 1 of 1

Installing Zoneminder using cmake for systemd systems

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:11 pm
by asker
Hi, I've recently upgraded to Ubuntu 15 which uses systemd.
I need to install ZoneMinder from the master-branch (working on some features). I am unfamiliar with systemd and
don't quite know what to do to get zone minder recognized and started after install.

Can someone who knows what do to advise?

So far:
a) I've compiled and installed ZM successfully (/usr/local/share/zonminder) via cmake

Doing this fails:

Code: Select all

root@ubuntu:/etc/systemd/system# sudo systemctl enable zoneminder.service
Synchronizing state for zoneminder.service with sysvinit using update-rc.d...
Executing /usr/sbin/update-rc.d zoneminder defaults
Executing /usr/sbin/update-rc.d zoneminder enable
Failed to execute operation: Operation not supported
Can someone advise me on what I need to do post install to get things working on the systemd side? Seems to me I need to make sure zoneminder.service is correctly linked but I'm no aware now

Code: Select all

root@ubuntu:/etc/systemd/system# ll `locate zoneminder.service`
root@ubuntu:/etc/systemd/system# ll `locate zoneminder.service`
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root  root   38 Aug 16 08:51 /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/zoneminder.service -> /lib/systemd/system/zoneminder.service

Re: Installing Zoneminder using cmake for systemd systems

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:44 pm
by asker
Problem solved - thanks

Re: Installing Zoneminder using cmake for systemd systems

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:20 pm
by bbunge
http://www.zoneminder.com/forums/viewto ... 32&t=23375

Actually, you do not have to go to Ubuntu 15.04 to use the latest zoneminder-master. The topic in the above link has procedures to get the latest "master" from the PPA to work under Ubuntu 14.04 and 15.04!

Re: Installing Zoneminder using cmake for systemd systems

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 10:15 pm
by asker
Thanks, yes I know. My production system runs master on ubuntu 14 while my dev system runs master on ubuntu 15.
I can't use a package - I needed to use cmake as I was modifying source to add some features.