What hardware you running ZoneMinder on?

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.28.x releases only.
swulf

What hardware you running ZoneMinder on?

Post by swulf »

I'm new to ZoneMinder and am looking to choose some robust hardware on which to run it under Ubuntu server. The machine will be in a warehouse environment and ideally I hope to find something fanless.

What do you use and/or recommend?

Thanks,

swulf

Update: I am now testing on an ASRock Q1900-ITX mini-ITX board running Ubuntu Server 14.04.3 LTS, which seems to be really good.
Last edited by swulf on Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PacoLM

Re: What hardware you running ZoneMinder on?

Post by PacoLM »

Hi,

It depends on your needs. If you do not plan to have too many cameras at high capture rates, I will choose a miniITX computer. They are powerful enough, there are fanless and their prices are quite good.
I have been using a miniITX system for years, also tested other solutions, like Cubox, Rpi, Beaglebone Black, Odroid U3, but this small beasts have no muscle for the ZM. Again, depends on your needs, if you are happy with two cameras, low capture rate, a OdroidU3 could be a good choice, for instance.

Hope it helps,

PacoLM

After more than 15 years, no longer using ZM as surveillance system.
Now in the dark side, using a commercial system...
Linwood

Post by Linwood »

I've put a ton of equipment in warehouses, and frankly the answer is don't. :)

There's almost always a network closet somewhere which is not only in better conditions, but the warehouse maintenance guy is less likely to come "help" you by "fixing" things. Last warehouse I did we even moved all the switches and wifi stuff into cabinets 35' up and we still had locks for the doors.

There's a ton of ruggedized stuff out there, but at least think about (since ZM runs nicely headless) just sticking this on a VM on a server in the closet somewhere. Easier to scale that way also if you add more cameras.