Montage limits

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.28.x releases only.
Post Reply
BiloxiGeek
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Montage limits

Post by BiloxiGeek » Sat Mar 28, 2015 3:47 pm

Seems more than six monitors in a montage view doesn't work in Firefox. I think this is likely an issue on the Firefox side but not sure.

Anyone know how to up that limit?

chippy99
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: Barnet, Herts. UK

Re: Montage limits

Post by chippy99 » Sat Mar 28, 2015 4:34 pm


BiloxiGeek
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: Montage limits

Post by BiloxiGeek » Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:27 am

Just realized this problem only manifests when I'm outside my network trying to view the montage.

I use an AdTrap between the cable modem and router. Since I didn't want to have two different bookmarks on my iPad I only use the externally accessible URL to get to zoneminder even if I'm on my home network. When I'm on the home network if I go the the zoneminder box direct the montage works as expected.

I'm pretty sure the issue is being caused by the AdTrap but so far haven't found where to modify it to let the full montage work. I've asked on the AdTrap forums but no response there yet. Anyone else using an AdTrap and seen this problem?

User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2276
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: Montage limits

Post by knight-of-ni » Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:09 pm

If I understand correctly, you are trying to access your zoneminder server within the same local LAN, using the Internet IP. While some firewalls can properly loop back (i.e. NAT reflection), in my experience it is more trouble than it is worth.

Instead, add a DNS A record to your local dns server that points your Internet domain name to the local IP address, rather than your public ip address. Naturally, you've got set up a local dns server (and then make sure your dhcp server uses this), but having a local (caching) dns server is generally a good idea anyway.

Doing so allows you to use the same url from your ipad, and it should get around any Adtrap issues because you will no longer be routing through your firewall (assuming adtrap is running on your firewall).
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/

bbunge
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:40 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Montage limits

Post by bbunge » Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:00 am

If you are using an iPad try ZM View. Free version works well and there is an Android version.

bb

BiloxiGeek
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: Montage limits

Post by BiloxiGeek » Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:30 am

bbunge wrote:If you are using an iPad try ZM View. Free version works well and there is an Android version.

bb
Looks a nice iPhone app, but I really dislike using iPhone apps on my iPad. The resolution is off, it won't rotate to landscape mode. Plus I didn't see any place to put in my zoneminder server info. Does it talk directly to zoneminder? It wanted me to create an account, but I couldn't seem to find what system the account is created on. It kind of seemed like I was about to create an account on someone else system that would then talk to my zoneminder box to get to the monitors. Right off the bat I don't like that idea at all. If I'm wrong let me know, I'll take another closer look.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests