Horrible Video Quality

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.26.x releases only.
Post Reply
sgrobinson
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:05 am

Horrible Video Quality

Post by sgrobinson » Sat Dec 07, 2013 8:35 pm

Hi Folks,

Can anyone help me solve this? Since upgrading a few months back (I've only just got around to having some time to sort/post this!!) to version 1.26.x all captures appear like this. It seems that it's the same for every frame with motion. Frames without motion appear alll good!

Image

mastertheknife
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Israel

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by mastertheknife » Sat Dec 07, 2013 8:38 pm

I have the same issue with analog cameras. Are you using the bttv driver?
Kfir Itzhak.

sgrobinson
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:05 am

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by sgrobinson » Sat Dec 07, 2013 8:55 pm

It's exactly what I'm using. Analog with bttv drivers. I've only seen this since the upgrade thought which is a bit odd!

mastertheknife
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Israel

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by mastertheknife » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:04 pm

I believe it's an issue with the bttv driver. I tried very hard to debug this but failed. I don't think it's a zoneminder issue.
Kfir Itzhak.

sgrobinson
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:05 am

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by sgrobinson » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:11 pm

Interesting.

As it worked previously on 1.25.x I'll grab two HDD's and set them up exactly the same up to the point of installing Zoneminder - One I'll install 1.25.x and the other 1.26.4 and I'll report back with the findings.

Might have to roll back somehow - I'm in no way doughting you as you are the developer after all, but for some reason it worked on that prior version! (UNLESS... There's been a sneaky upgrade to the driver somewhere on the system I don't know about)

sgrobinson
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:05 am

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by sgrobinson » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:14 pm

On a side note, getting allot of these.. Not sure if it's related! Havent seen them before....

Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0001', 1: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0001', 1: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0002', 2: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0002', 2: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0003', 3: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0003', 3: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0004', 4: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0004', 4: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0005', 5: No such file or directory]
Dec 7 19:57:13 paddickspatch zmwatch[26365]: ERR [Can't get shared memory id '7a6d0005', 5: No such file or directory]

mastertheknife
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Israel

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by mastertheknife » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:21 pm

Those errors are because of a bug in 1.26.4 installation using cmake. Add -DENABLE_MMAP="yes" to your cmake command line.
Kfir Itzhak.

mastertheknife
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Israel

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by mastertheknife » Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:53 pm

Hi, i'm trying (again) to locate the source of the problem without luck.

If you can confirm that the issue does not exist in v1.25.0, this will rule out the bttv driver as the source of the problem.
Kfir Itzhak.

linuxsense
Posts: 374
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:59 am
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Contact:

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by linuxsense » Thu Dec 19, 2013 11:59 pm

I have been using the same two capture cards for years with ZM and I have only had the issue displayed in the first post with 1.26. Just upgraded to the 1.26.5 initial observations show that it looks fixed although it does look like I am seeing interlaced video despite running at 320x240. I'll play with the capture settings later when I have a bit more time. One tidbit that might help you find the source of this issues is even when running early 1.26 releases where I would get the crazy images via the web interface the same feeds looked fine when viewing them using IP Cam Viewer on iPad or Android.

sgrobinson
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:05 am

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by sgrobinson » Sat Dec 21, 2013 6:05 pm

Thanks for the replies!

I'll try and grab a HDD and test with 1.25.0 this week so we can narrow that out!

mastertheknife
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Israel

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by mastertheknife » Sun Dec 22, 2013 4:35 am

linuxsense wrote:I am seeing interlaced video despite running at 320x240
Hi,
You were probably previously capturing using Video 4 Linux 1 (V4L1). When capturing at that resolution, it only captured 1 field (half picture - e.g. only odd or only even lines), so the image was progressive (had no interlacing artifacts). To get this kind of behaviour back with V4L2, you will need to tell it to only keep the top field or the bottom field by going into monitor options, and choosing "V4L2: Top only" or "V4L2: Bottom only" in the Deinterlacing option.
Even better, you might want to capture full resolution now (640x480 for example) and turn on deinterlacing. Check the "four field motion adaptive - medium" deinterlacing option.
Last edited by mastertheknife on Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kfir Itzhak.

zSeries
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:43 pm

Re: Horrible Video Quality

Post by zSeries » Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:25 pm

In your first post you said "(I've only just got around to having some time to sort/post this!!) to version 1.26.x all captures appear like this".

How many cameras do you have? Your image appearance is the same as I got when I upgraded from 2 to 4 analog cameras. Can you disable one camera at a time and see if it resolves the problem?

Finally I dont think this is an interlacing problem. Interlacing causes a consistant shift in two images where motion occurs and those images are super imposed when viewed. The offset between alternate lines is exactly the same. In the image above it is almost random shifts between lines, thats the problem I was getting.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests