Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.25.x releases only.
Post Reply
elmargol
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:47 pm

Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by elmargol » Sat Jun 22, 2013 6:29 am

I'm running v1.25.0

And have a Foscam FI9805W added to zoneminder using Source ffmpeg rtsp://

Maximum FPS: 10
Alarm FPS: 10

the RTSP stream is 5 FPS
Keyframe interval 10
Bitrate 1M

The problem is every couble minutes I get a frame like this.
****://imgur.c*m/lapNmpY

Is the problem a old ffmpeg version?

Flasheart
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:27 pm

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by Flasheart » Sat Jun 22, 2013 2:05 pm

Try these instead; (Standard for foscams, although it's possible yours is a weird one, I think these should work)

http://IP/videostream.cgi

An mjpg feed

http://IP/snapshot.cgi

A static jpg feed that's good for about 3-5fps

(In monitor; set http, then host = the ip address. path = everything including and after /

Both should give 640x480 feeds, if they don't, view them in a web browser and check the urls and dimensions.

If they prompt for a username, add that to the url like so:

?user=username&pwd=password

If you've never set a pass and it still prompts. use; ?user=admin&pwd=

You can set the resolution on foscams via the url too. ?resolution=32 (for 640x480)

This site has a full list; http://www.ispyconnect.com/man.aspx?n=foscam

If the camera still produces corrupted images with http, and you can replicate them via http in a web browser (especially the image file), I'm afraid I would think very bad thoughts about the camera itself.

elmargol
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:47 pm

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by elmargol » Sat Jun 22, 2013 2:20 pm

If I enter h***://IP/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?cmd=snapPicture2&usr=admin&pwd=something in my browser I get the current frame.
Somehow this does not work in zoneminder.

If I enter ***://IP/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?cmd=snapPicture&usr=admin&pwd=something this gives a simple html page containing one frame.

Flasheart
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:27 pm

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by Flasheart » Sat Jun 22, 2013 2:24 pm

right click the image to get the jpg, rather than the html page.

Just to check, if that's a good path, fill the fields in Source as:

Protocol: http
Method: Simple
Host name: 192.168.0.1 (or whatever your camera's ip is - JUST the IP)
Port: 80 (unless you know different)
Path: /cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?cmd=snapPicture2&usr=admin&pwd= (Change if the actual jpg path differs as at the top of this reply)
Colours: 24-bit
Width: 640 (change if not)
Height: 480 (change if not)

If still not working, logs. Either log link top-right of console, or go into /var/log/syslog or /var/log/zm depending on your distro and get some details.

elmargol
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:47 pm

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by elmargol » Sat Jun 22, 2013 2:31 pm

maybe wrong mime type?

06/22/13 16:31:04.390186 zmc_m8[5585].ERR-zm_remote_camera_http.cpp/800 [Unrecognised content type 'text/plain']
06/22/13 16:31:04.390283 zmc_m8[5585].ERR-zm_remote_camera_http.cpp/1097 [Unable to get response]

RichardK
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:02 am

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by RichardK » Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:54 am

Try adding ?tcp to the end of your rtsp source URL.

elmargol
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:47 pm

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by elmargol » Tue Jun 25, 2013 6:06 am

Does not help :(

elmargol
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:47 pm

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by elmargol » Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:32 am

i'd like to switch from rtsp to jpeg snapshot.

I get
06/22/13 16:31:04.390186 zmc_m8[5585].ERR-zm_remote_camera_http.cpp/800 [Unrecognised content type 'text/plain']
06/22/13 16:31:04.390283 zmc_m8[5585].ERR-zm_remote_camera_http.cpp/1097 [Unable to get response]

any ideas how I can workaround this?

Casperbrown
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:07 pm

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by Casperbrown » Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:10 pm

Give IP Camera Viewer a try. It's a great little product that lets you view your cams quickly and for free. The interface is intuitive and it works well with every model of IP & USB camera. It complete supports all the Foscam IP cameras.

elmargol
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:47 pm

Re: Corrupted frames every couple minutes. using RTSP Stream

Post by elmargol » Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:14 pm

Sorry I prefer zoneminder

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests