ZM fails to start

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.25.x releases only.
Imagineer

ZM fails to start

Post by Imagineer »

Hi all,

I have compiled and installed ZoneMinder 1.25.0 from source (that was far from being easy for me, especially since I'm a novice at Linux) along with webmin 1.58 on a freshly installed and up to date Ubuntu server 11.10 x64 (it's a VM, running on VirtualBox), it seemed like all the steps I performed were OK, I mean I didn't notice any serious error during the installation.
I basically followed this tutorial from ZoneMinder Wiki: http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.ph ... _Cambozola and at some time I was able to reach the ZM login page successfully (although I couldn't log in from the host computer - not directly from the VM - because I don't remember having specifically set up any password for ZM, I tried 'zmuser' and 'zmpass' but to no avail, that's yet another problem anyway ..), but I think it's since I rebooted Ubuntu that it's not working any longer.

The error I got in the terminal, when I called the start up script, is as follows:

Starting ZoneMinder: Bareword "ZM_PATH_LOGS" not allowed while "strict subs" in use at /usr/local/share/perl/5.12.4/ZoneMinder/Logger.pm line 153.
BEGIN not safe after errors--compilation aborted at /usr/local/share/perl/5.12.4/ZoneMinder/Logger.pm line 168.
Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/share/perl/5.12.4/ZoneMinder.pm line 34.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/share/perl/5.12.4/ZoneMinder.pm line 34.
Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/bin/zmpkg.pl line 37.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/bin/zmpkg.pl line 37.
failure

From this message, I guess the issue is related to permissions and/or a conflict for a file being simultaneously used by different processes, but I don't really see how I am supposed to fix that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Thank you.
mastertheknife

Re: ZM fails to start

Post by mastertheknife »