How can I reach Zoneminder from the public Internet

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.25.x releases only.
Post Reply
ebros
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:00 pm

How can I reach Zoneminder from the public Internet

Post by ebros » Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:13 pm

I have a problem. I have behind A-link Wnap 3g Router (3G-connection) my home-net (ethernet) and in one of my PCs Zoneminder.
I reach in my home-net my Zoneminder, but don´t from the public Internet. First I don´t know, how to go trough A-link (which means and settings?) from the public I-net to my ZM. Second I dont know, how to make my ZM-adress from public net. I an not very familiar with these things.

User avatar
nightcrawler
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:54 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: How can I reach Zoneminder from the public Internet

Post by nightcrawler » Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:28 pm

MMM you know how to config an ZM-server and you don't know anything about IP-configurations? thats strange...

But here an very limited howto:

1) detect your IP to the www. with : http://whatismyipaddress.com/ and note it. (something like: 81.57.3.999 or so..)
2) You have to forward your ZM-server port 80 to your router so it will be found on the www. go to your router configuration page and look for something like "port forward". forward your ZM-server IP (that will be something like 192.168.1.2) at your router with an TCP protocol.
3) save and reboot your router.

4) open an Internet Explorer and open: http:<YOURROUTERIP>/ZM (no www!)
5) You can get an free DNS adres (website url) at: www.dyndns.org. google for instructions about that.
or read something like this: http://www.dyndnscommunity.com/question ... e-net.html
it's simular for making an webserver visible...so google.google.google..
Zoneminder @Ubuntu 11 server, ZM 1.25.0 , FFMPEG, 4 Analoge cameras, 1.6ghz P4mobile, 2GB ram, 60GB-HDD.
I also have an (homeseer) domotica system up-and-running with touchscreens,light controllers,weather forecast etc.

ebros
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:00 pm

Re: How can I reach Zoneminder from the public Internet

Post by ebros » Mon Feb 06, 2012 5:10 pm

Hi,
If my public incoming IP-adress is 193.6x.xx.xx and the IP-adress of my ZM-PC, bihind A-link Wnap 3G (cable connection), is 197.168.x.xxx and I have port forwading in A-link to 197.168.x.xxx, port 80, so must I take to reach my ZM:
http:// 193.6x.xx.xx/ZM or
http://193.6x.xx.xx:197.168.x.xxx or
http:// 193.6x.xx.xx:197.168.x.xxx or
http:// 193.6x.xx.xx:80 or someting else?

User avatar
kingofkya
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:07 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

Re: How can I reach Zoneminder from the public Internet

Post by kingofkya » Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:02 am

Look up "port forwarding + your3gModel" if that is even possible as a lot of 3g modems as of late put you behind a N.A.T

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests