Stops recording if one frame has no movement detected

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.25.x releases only.
Post Reply
lyallp
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Stops recording if one frame has no movement detected

Post by lyallp » Sun Oct 23, 2011 9:46 pm

I have ZM 1.25 setup on a Gentoo linux box using a MSI StarCam 370i in a hobby situation.

I find that it seems to record motion events as multiple events if the motion ceases to be detected for one frame, resulting in the end of the motion event, 5 (configured) subsequent frames, then a new event starting immediately.

Is there a parameter I can set to make ZM keep looking for motion for a number of frames before deciding the motion event has finished? If someone is standing around, I can have as many as 4 separate events for the one person.

I currently have my alarm frame count set to 9 so that I ignore passers by and I also have a small exclusion zone setup to ignore lights going on and off.

Thanks, in advance.
...Lyall

bb99
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:04 am

Re: Stops recording if one frame has no movement detected

Post by bb99 » Sun Oct 23, 2011 9:56 pm

Set your monitor::buffers::Post Event Image Count setting to a much higher number. At 10 fps I'm using 140 as a base number; this eliminates the multiple events and will combine them to one. This is not truly a buffer and will not cause a problem with Image Buffer Size.

lyallp
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Stops recording if one frame has no movement detected

Post by lyallp » Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:08 am

This means I will end up with 140 images after the motion detection ceases for each event.
At least that is how I understand it.
What I would like to have is 'check for motion for this many frames before deciding motion has stopped' type of parameter.
Then, once 'motion' has ceased, then I would have my 10 post images. (or in your case, 140).
...Lyall

bb99
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:04 am

Re: Stops recording if one frame has no movement detected

Post by bb99 » Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:42 am

This is exactly what your asking for. Set it to ten if you want or 50; play around, you'll find a happy median.

lyallp
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Stops recording if one frame has no movement detected

Post by lyallp » Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:10 pm

Ok, I tried the setting at 50 frames, all the motion is captured in one event, which is exactly what I am looking for, but, it still has 50 frames of no motion at the end of the clip, which is not what I wanted. I wanted only 10 frames of follow up frames.

So what I was looking for was the ability to look for up to 50 frames for additional movement, if none was found, to only record 10 frames after the final movement.

I guess there is no way to achieve this?
...Lyall

bb99
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:04 am

Re: Stops recording if one frame has no movement detected

Post by bb99 » Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:18 pm

Nope. This is the only current way; but actually yours is a good request for a future feature.

whatboy
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:31 pm

Re: Stops recording if one frame has no movement detected

Post by whatboy » Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:00 am

>>ability to look for up to 50 frames for additional movement
>>if none was found, to only record 10 frames



Try this two... "Overload Frame Ignore Count" and "Post Event Image Count"

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests