Zoneminder and Mythtv web access

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.24.x releases only.
Post Reply
jonnybignote
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:23 am

Zoneminder and Mythtv web access

Post by jonnybignote » Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:34 am

Hi all

I'm trying to run ZoneMinder on a Mythbuntu (Mythtv) system. The mythtv is a solid and dependable install and I rely on the mythweb part of it constantly. As Apache is already configured through Mythtv and runs on port 80, how would I configure ZM to work - will I be able to access it and the myth web interface? I don't want to screw anything up on the Myth system as it took a while to get it the way I like it...

Do I need another port or another instance of Apache? I've also heard of people adding pages to their Mythweb to feature the Zoneminder

I don't need the mythplugin before anyone asks, I need remote access of ZM

Any help greatly appreciated

Mythbuntu 9.10 (64bit)

kevin_robson
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:26 am

Re: Zoneminder and Mythtv web access

Post by kevin_robson » Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:52 am

Look up apache virtual hosting.
I do this myself, and have got it working on ubuntu.
If you can't work it out, I'll dig out my config files.
I suggest you make a backup of /etc/apache2 or whatever it is called before tinkering.

DREMA
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:39 am
Location: México

Re: Zoneminder and Mythtv web access

Post by DREMA » Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:21 pm

Well, you access you mythweb at http://ipaddress/mythweb/ or something like that, and you will access zoneminder on http://ipaddress/zm/ both on port 80, so no problem at all.
Just... enjoy life! :D

jonnybignote
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:23 am

Re: Zoneminder and Mythtv web access

Post by jonnybignote » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:22 am

Thanks Kevin - I'll look into it...

@DREMA - you sure about that? I thought that the /zm or/mythweb were just redirectors for the port? If I type just the ip address, its currently goes to Mythweb anyway...

DREMA
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:39 am
Location: México

Re: Zoneminder and Mythtv web access

Post by DREMA » Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:44 am

Nope, your server use the same port, those are just diferent directories.

Then your server root directory is/redirect to the mythweb, zoneminder tipically install to /zm
Just... enjoy life! :D

jonnybignote
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:23 am

Re: Zoneminder and Mythtv web access

Post by jonnybignote » Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:59 am

ok thanks - makes sense.

how about remote login though? can I still specify the directory for that?

thanks for your help

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests