Page 1 of 1

No network

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:54 pm
by Fitch
I can either get localhost running with all 4 cameras working nicely, or I can have internet.
I can't have both.

My /etc/networks/interfaces is as follows:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

This will give me zoneminder on the camera computer (local host)

If I change it to:

auto eth0
iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

I can get the internet

What am I doing wrong?

Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:00 am
by Flash_
You should have both declarations in that file.

===
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
===

Either restart, or issue the commands
"ifconfig lo up" and "ifconfig eth0 up"

"ifconfig" would then show two network interfaces, lo and eth0, and you should have access to local services and the world beyond.

Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:54 am
by Fitch
:D Thanks for that.

It eventually worked as suggested (I also found a dodgy cable - which didn't help much)

Cameras come up on all the computers now. Cheers!