Won't stream video

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.24.x releases only.
orsty3001
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Won't stream video

Post by orsty3001 » Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:03 pm

This is my first time installing zoneminder, just downloaded the latest version and trying it on my slackware box. I tested the card I ordered with xawtv and was able to see video just fine.

Zoneminder seems to start fine but I can't get it to stream video.

http://i49.tinypic.com/efnrk9.jpg

That's what I get when I try to view. I'm not sure if there is a log file I can check to see if there is an error.

ronaldop
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:40 pm

Post by ronaldop » Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:44 pm

If you are using cambozola, use chmod 755 cambozola.jar. If not, try to download cambozola and activate it in config.

ronaldop
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:40 pm

Post by ronaldop » Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:14 pm

the log files are in /tmp

try look into /tmp/zmdc.log

orsty3001
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Post by orsty3001 » Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:48 pm

Thanks for the reply.

I messed around with that system at lunch and found that the error log line was missing from the httpd.conf file. I set it up with one and the only error it displays when I try to access the camera is this.

[Wed Jan 27 12:38:14 2010] [error] [client 68.189.170.198] array (\n 0 => \n array (\n 'file' => '/home/web/<mysite>/zm/ajax/stream.php',\n 'line' => 55,\n 'function' => 'ajaxError',\n 'args' => \n array (\n 0 => 'socket_sendto( /tmp/zms-658636s.sock ) failed: No such file or directory',\n ),\n ),\n 1 => \n array (\n 'file' => '/home/web/<mysite>/zm/index.php',\n 'line' => 116,\n 'args' => \n array (\n 0 => '/home/web/<mysite>/zm/ajax/stream.php',\n ),\n 'function' => 'require_once',\n ),\n),

Of course I replaced my actual url with <mysite>.

I changed the permissions on that tmp folder and noticed that zm can create a log file there but there's never any zms-whatever.sock file created.

Also I just changed the premissions on the cambozola.jar file and still no luck.

orsty3001
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Post by orsty3001 » Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:59 pm

[Fri Jan 29 13:55:17 2010] [error] [client 192.168.1.254] PHP Notice: Use of undefined constant ZM_WEB_AJAX_TIMEOUT - assumed 'ZM_WEB_AJAX_TIMEOUT' in /home/web/<mysebsite>/zm/ajax/stream.php on line 3
[Fri Jan 29 13:55:17 2010] [error] [client 192.168.1.254] PHP Notice: Undefined index: connkey in /home/web/<mywebsite>/zm/ajax/stream.php on line 6
[Fri Jan 29 13:55:17 2010] [error] [client 192.168.1.254] PHP Fatal error: Call to undefined function ajaxError() in /home/web/<mywebsite>/zm/ajax/stream.php on line 8

Had a little more time today to play with this, found this error.

Also just tried FFMPEG and it recorded the video from my camera with no problem.

stimburg
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:45 pm

Post by stimburg » Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:53 pm

I have the exact same problem trying to get zm's video feed to work on Slackware 13.

[Mon Feb 01 08:45:19 2010] [error] [client 192.168.1.240] array (\n 0 => \n array (\n 'file' => '/var/www/htdocs/zm/ajax/stream.php',\n 'line' => 55,\n 'function' => 'ajaxError',\n 'args' => \n array (\n 0 => 'socket_sendto( /tmp/zms-883710s.sock ) failed: No such file or directory',\n ),\n ),\n 1 => \n array (\n 'file' => '/var/www/htdocs/zm/index.php',\n 'line' => 116,\n 'args' => \n array (\n 0 => '/var/www/htdocs/zm/ajax/stream.php',\n ),\n 'function' => 'require_once',\n ),\n), referer: http://192.168.1.1/zm/?view=watch&mid=8


I watched the tmp directory and a zms-*w.socks file is created but goes away after a second.

Has anyone solved this yet?

User avatar
kingofkya
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:07 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

Post by kingofkya » Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:15 pm

Are you sure the cgi-bin directory is setup in Apache correctly also does Apache have permissions to the events folder.

The images are generated by cgi-bin files thats why I ask. Also the fact they you have a fps reading means it is capturing video.

orsty3001
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Post by orsty3001 » Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:42 pm

Not sure if zms is working but I do the path in zoneminder is pointed to that directory and also i set up a script alias for that directory in Apache's conf file. I wrote a hello world perl script to make sure it was parsing and worked fine in that directory.

Is there a way to test zms to see if it's working or make it spit out a more specific error?

stimburg
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:45 pm

Post by stimburg » Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:42 pm

kingofkya wrote:Are you sure the cgi-bin directory is setup in Apache correctly also does Apache have permissions to the events folder.

The images are generated by cgi-bin files thats why I ask. Also the fact they you have a fps reading means it is capturing video.

I don't believe mine is, when I open firefox and goto http://(myipaddress)/zm/cgi-bin/zms

It tries to download the file.

Paranoid
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:40 pm

Post by Paranoid » Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:39 am

Go to your zonemonder webpage and select "options". About the 3rd tab in is "paths" and one of these settings should be for "PATH_LOGS". Check that the directory pointed to by this option exists and look for the zoneminder logs in there.

orsty3001
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Post by orsty3001 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:14 am

Paranoid wrote:Go to your zonemonder webpage and select "options". About the 3rd tab in is "paths" and one of these settings should be for "PATH_LOGS". Check that the directory pointed to by this option exists and look for the zoneminder logs in there.
zmwatch.log

zmwatch[3661].ERR [Can't get shared memory, 8: No such file or directory]

zmdc.log

zmdc[3622].ERR ['zmc -d /dev/video0' exited abnormally, exit status 6]

stimburg
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:45 pm

Post by stimburg » Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:44 pm

None of my logs really seem to give any errors, just seem to record when I've started and stopped ZM.

I turned up debugging to 5 and this is what the dubug log says.

02/01/10 10:57:59.142699 zmc_dvideo0[32752].ERR-zm_signal.cpp/122 [Backtrace: /lib/libc.so.6(gsignal+0x46) [0xb7220c66]]
02/01/10 10:57:59.142820 zmc_dvideo0[32752].ERR-zm_signal.cpp/122 [Backtrace: /lib/libc.so.6(gsignal+0x46) [0xb7220c66]]
02/01/10 10:57:59.142886 zmc_dvideo0[32752].ERR-zm_signal.cpp/122 [Backtrace: /lib/libc.so.6(abort+0x101) [0xb7222571]]
02/01/10 10:57:59.142966 zmc_dvideo0[32752].ERR-zm_signal.cpp/122 [Backtrace: /usr/bin/zmc [0x8054c8d]]
02/01/10 10:57:59.143038 zmc_dvideo0[32752].ERR-zm_signal.cpp/122 [Backtrace: /usr/bin/zmc [0x80657a7]]
02/01/10 10:57:59.143111 zmc_dvideo0[32752].ERR-zm_signal.cpp/122 [Backtrace: /usr/bin/zmc [0x804cd87]]
02/01/10 10:57:59.143183 zmc_dvideo0[32752].ERR-zm_signal.cpp/122 [Backtrace: /lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe0) [0xb720c390]]
02/01/10 10:57:59.143256 zmc_dvideo0[32752].ERR-zm_signal.cpp/122 [Backtrace: /usr/bin/zmc [0x804c931]]
02/01/10 10:57:59.143327 zmc_dvideo0[32752].INF-zm_signal.cpp/125 [Backtrace complete, please execute the following command for more information]
02/01/10 10:57:59.143400 zmc_dvideo0[32752].INF-zm_signal.cpp/126 [addr2line -e /usr/bin/zmc 0xb7220c66 0xb7220c66 0xb7222571 0x8054c8d 0x80657a7 0x804cd87 0xb720c390 0x804c931]


When I run the addr2line command I get this.

??:0
??:0
??:0
??:0
/home/braco/ZoneMinder-1.24.2/src/zm_local_camera.cpp:1455
/home/braco/ZoneMinder-1.24.2/src/zmc.cpp:199
??:0
??:0

Not sure if that means anything.

Paranoid
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:40 pm

Post by Paranoid » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:13 pm

I am only guessing because I'm not that familiar with the code but...

It looks to be failing in the LocalCamera::PrimeCapture function and it appears that one of things it sets in this is the format. Try changing the device format. If its currently set to PAL try NTSC and vice versa. If it still doesn't work try all the other formats as well.

orsty3001
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Post by orsty3001 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:43 pm

Paranoid wrote:I am only guessing because I'm not that familiar with the code but...

It looks to be failing in the LocalCamera::PrimeCapture function and it appears that one of things it sets in this is the format. Try changing the device format. If its currently set to PAL try NTSC and vice versa. If it still doesn't work try all the other formats as well.
I tried that, only the ntsc ones work, the rest of them make the monitor's source link go red.

Zoneminder is recording video using NTSC it's just not streaming it.

Paranoid
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:40 pm

Post by Paranoid » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:16 pm

orsty3001 wrote:
Paranoid wrote:I am only guessing because I'm not that familiar with the code but...

It looks to be failing in the LocalCamera::PrimeCapture function and it appears that one of things it sets in this is the format. Try changing the device format. If its currently set to PAL try NTSC and vice versa. If it still doesn't work try all the other formats as well.
I tried that, only the ntsc ones work, the rest of them make the monitor's source link go red.

Zoneminder is recording video using NTSC it's just not streaming it.
Sorry, I was replying to stimburg's post with that suggestion.

If its recording then the problem might be with your browser. Have you tried a different browser? If you are using IE have you enabled (and downloaded) java?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests