PV-155 / Ubuntu 9.10 only seeing channel /dev/video0 0

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Post Reply
davinman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:35 pm

PV-155 / Ubuntu 9.10 only seeing channel /dev/video0 0

Post by davinman » Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:51 pm

So I have just installed the latest version of Zoneminder on a brand new Ubuntu server build. The card I am using is a 16 port PV-155 purchased from Bluecherry. I used the guide located at http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.ph ... ver_32-bit and all seemed okay when I hooked up the first camera to /dev/video0 0 but when I hooked up the next one and created the monitor it would not activate. It seems that creating a file bttv.conf in the modprobe.d directory with option card=77,77,77,77 and a reboot fixed the issue. I can create monitors on all 16 channels but they all have blue screens except video 0 0 (tried moving several cameras around to make sure the ports were numbered correctly).

I searched some more and found that I should uncheck V4L_MULTI_BUFFER which I did with no change. I built ZM with --enable-mmap to avoid any shared memory problems and I see that data is being written to /dev/shm fo ZM.

I am at a loss so here are some output of what the server sees for the card.


root@kilo:/tmp# lsmod | grep bt
bttv 119412 2
ir_common 48512 1 bttv
i2c_algo_bit 5760 1 bttv
v4l2_common 17500 1 bttv
videodev 36736 4 bttv,v4l2_common
videobuf_dma_sg 12608 1 bttv
videobuf_core 17952 2 bttv,videobuf_dma_sg
btcx_risc 4772 1 bttv
tveeprom 11872 1 bttv
root@kilo:/tmp# find /dev -name video*
/dev/video0
/dev/video1
/dev/video2
/dev/video3
/dev/.udev/db/video4linux:video0
/dev/.udev/db/video4linux:video1
/dev/.udev/db/video4linux:video2
/dev/.udev/db/video4linux:vbi0
/dev/.udev/db/video4linux:vbi1
/dev/.udev/db/video4linux:vbi2
/dev/.udev/db/video4linux:video3
/dev/.udev/db/video4linux:vbi3
root@kilo:/tmp# lspci -v | grep Multimedia
04:08.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
04:08.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)
04:09.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
04:09.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)
04:0a.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
04:0a.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)
04:0b.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
04:0b.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)
root@kilo:/tmp#


Thanks,
David

davinman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:35 pm

Post by davinman » Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:43 pm

any body have any ideas. I have been pulling my hair out for a few days now with no luck not that I had much hair to begin with mind you

adamu
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:23 am

Post by adamu » Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:42 am

Hi there,

Thanks for posting the topic hopefully we can solve this.

I have recently installed ubuntu 9.10 server also, x64 version with 4x 500GB HDDs in RAID format. 80GB OS drive.
It also has a PV capture card 16port in it. I am unsure of the exact model number.

Currently I have 8 video channels loaded in dmesg
bttv0 to bttv7, all linked to vbi0 to vbi7 accordingly
Output can be shown as: (bttv7 shown)

[ 416.490172] bttv: Bt8xx card found (7).
[ 416.490197] bttv 0000:05:0e.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[ 416.490215] bttv7: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:05:0e.0, irq: 22, latency: 32, mmio: 0xf8101000
[ 416.490281] bttv7: using: ProVideo PV150 [card=98,insmod option]
[ 416.490285] IRQ 22/bttv7: IRQF_DISABLED is not guaranteed on shared IRQs
[ 416.490322] bttv7: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=0078ffff [init]
[ 496.890028] bttv7: tuner absent
[ 496.890174] bttv7: registered device video7
[ 496.890230] bttv7: registered device vbi7
[ 496.890264] bttv7: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .
[ 496.893044] bttv7: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .
[ 496.893860] bttv7: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok
[ 2973.593758] bttv0: PLL can sleep, using XTAL (28636363).
[ 3034.171368] bttv0: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok


crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 1 2010-03-09 15:16 vbi0
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 3 2010-03-09 15:18 vbi1
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 5 2010-03-09 15:17 vbi2
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 7 2010-03-09 15:17 vbi3
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 9 2010-03-09 15:18 vbi4
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 11 2010-03-09 15:20 vbi5
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 13 2010-03-09 15:21 vbi6
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 15 2010-03-09 15:22 vbi7

crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 0 2010-03-09 16:05 video0
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 2 2010-03-09 15:59 video1
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 4 2010-03-09 15:17 video2
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 6 2010-03-09 15:17 video3
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 8 2010-03-09 15:18 video4
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 10 2010-03-09 15:20 video5
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 12 2010-03-09 15:21 video6
crw-rw---- 1 root video 81, 14 2010-03-09 15:22 video7



I couldn't get anything to work originally with zoneminder. What I had to do was add /etc/modprobe.d/bttv.conf with the following:
options bttv card=98,98,98,98,98,98,98,98
Once added, restart the box and it showed vbi0 to vbi7 succesfully.

In zoneminder I'm able to get video0 but the rest of the channels show blue. It also has another 8 ports which don't seem to show at all.

Hope someone can point us in the right direction

Attached a pictures of my capture card. It has techwell markings on it. Could someone help me identify it? With Card=98 it seems to detect and /dev/video0 works succesfully /dev/vbi0.

Here are some pics of the card/box/adapters
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

davinman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:35 pm

Post by davinman » Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:21 am

I think that I have figured this out. I have 3 cameras currently on

/dev/video0 0
/dev/video0 1
/dev/video1 0

I have the modprobe.d set to option bttv card=77,77,77,77 and I have set CAPTURES_PER_FRAME = 2 and turned off V4L_MULTI_BUFFER in the config. The other part that I was missing was the permission in Ubuntu on the video devices. I forgot that they change after each reboot so instead of trying to change them or the udev rules I placed the apache user in the video group. Once I did that I can see all three cameras.

Thanks,
David Inman

curtishall
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:45 am
Location: Fulton, MO
Contact:

Post by curtishall » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:16 am

adamu wrote:Hi there,

Thanks for posting the topic hopefully we can solve this.

I have recently installed ubuntu 9.10 server also, x64 version with 4x 500GB HDDs in RAID format. 80GB OS drive.
It also has a PV capture card 16port in it. I am unsure of the exact model number.
The card in the picture is not a PV card.
--
Curtis Hall
Bluecherry
www.bluecherrydvr.com
store.bluecherry.net

adamu
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:23 am

Post by adamu » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:31 am

What is it?

Could you give me the cardnumber to be put in modprobe?
So far I've only succesfully got output with using card=98. PV150.

User avatar
kingofkya
Posts: 1112
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:07 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

Post by kingofkya » Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:04 am

adamu First off you will get more help if you post your own thread.
anyway. if you get a blue image your on the right track.

I assume you have 4 capture chips based off the 4 techwell chips I see.

It may be that you need to set a device channel aka which port. its in the camera setup window. This is because the card will switch back and forth between the cameras to capture the images. Probbly 1-4 per /dev/video

and most likely if i am right about the 4 capture chips
card = 98,98,98,98

Flav
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:26 pm
Contact:

Post by Flav » Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:56 pm

May be you can fix the /dev/videox in /etc/udev/rules.d/83duplicate.rules Like this you can conf one to one cam and fix the problem


Code: Select all

# Liens permanents Video Pour carte Capture Video Surveillance
# Video1 Route /dev/video1 vers /dev/vroute
KERNEL=="video*", ATTRS{device}=="0x036e", ATTRS{vendor}=="0x109e", ATTRS{subsystem_vendor}=="0x804a", ATTRS{subsystem_device}=="0x763c", SYMLINK+="vroute"
# Video2 Cave /dev/video2 vers /dev/vcave
KERNEL=="video*", ATTRS{device}=="0x036e", ATTRS{vendor}=="0x109e", ATTRS{subsystem_vendor}=="0x804b", ATTRS{subsystem_device}=="0x763c", SYMLINK+="vcave"
# Video1 Route /dev/video1 vers /dev/entree
KERNEL=="video*", ATTRS{device}=="0x036e", ATTRS{vendor}=="0x109e", ATTRS{subsystem_vendor}=="0x804c", ATTRS{subsystem_device}=="0x763c", SYMLINK+="ventree"
# Video1 Route /dev/video1 vers /dev/varriere
KERNEL=="video*", ATTRS{device}=="0x036e", ATTRS{vendor}=="0x109e", ATTRS{subsystem_vendor}=="0x804d", ATTRS{subsystem_device}=="0x763c", SYMLINK+="varriere"
# Video0 Webcam /dev/video0 vers /dev/grenier
KERNEL=="video*", ATTRS{idProduct}=="08d9", ATTRS{idVendor}=="046d", SYMLINK+="vgrenier"

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests