2 harddrives?

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Post Reply
giloosh
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:19 am

2 harddrives?

Post by giloosh » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:53 pm

How can zoneminder be configured to work with 2 harddrives? I tried enabling raid on my mobo and archlinux just recognized it as 2 seperate harddrives. Is there anyway around this?

timcraig
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:53 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Post by timcraig » Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:42 pm

You have two clean options to go use RAID/JBOD or LVM.

Here's Arch's documentation on these topics: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ins ... AID_or_LVM

Even it you enable RAID on your motherboard, you still need to install and or configure your Linux system to use the hardisks in a RAID array. You'll still see sda* & sdb* devices in your dev folder when you have RAID correctly enabled. The RAID mapped device you'll want to mount in fstab will most likely be in the /dev/mapper folder.

LVM is another way to go. LVM is a linux software solution that maps multiple hard disks into a single volume. It doesn't have the performance boost RAID has (but if you're looking for a reall performance boost from RAID, you will be looking at buying an expensive RAID controller card) but you have a lot of flexibility. In LVM you can resize the merged volumes on the fly. If you get more harddisks, you can easily add them to you're merged volume.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests